What’s On Your Playlist That Reminds You Of John King?

Wednesday, 07.11.07

The ZZ Top song “Sharp Dressed Man” comes to mind whenever I look at John King’s  official full-length portrait. In addition, cstkitten used the song “Holding Out For A Hero” in her upbeat and highly enjoyable youtube video:

I think he needs a theme song. CNN is asking for ideas for a political theme, why don’t we do the same, but just for John? What do you all think?

Sooooo… what’s on your playlist that reminds you of John King? I think “Whatta Man” by En Vogue is also somewhat fitting — although, I’d stop short of saying that all the lyrics are applicable. Let’s brainstorm a list and see if we can come up with enough ideas to vote on an “official” johnthenewsking song! Happy listening!

3 Comments

Filed under Just For Fun

3 responses to “What’s On Your Playlist That Reminds You Of John King?

  1. milliepip

    Well as far as my playlist goes, I’ve looked and there are some songs that I kind of liked by title, then when I checked out the lyrics, I thought, “mmheeeh… naaah.” So strictly going by title alone these were my choices: “In My Wildest Dreams” (Moody Blues) , “All Around The World” (4 Strings) “From A Distance” (Bette Midler) “Living In A Bubble” (Europop). The reason I chose “Living In A Bubble” is because John once described working at the White House as being in a “bubble”.

  2. phillyjulie

    I’m into the singer/songwriters, Patty Griffin’s been a favorite of mine and the song on her latest album called, “I Don’t Ever Give Up” can be interpreted in many ways. I can relate to it for myself in my life, but it could definitely apply to a hard working reporter who’s trying to tell the public what’s really happening in this world today with government, and not just ours but a lot of them, that fight the truth of things getting out. It must be like hitting your head on cement, but they have to keep trying.

  3. mebz72

    I’ve been thinking about this, but haven’t been able to come up with anything. I’m blanking. I have been listening to a lot of Flogging Molly recently, I know it doesn’t apply but “Devil’s Dance Floor” sure does make me want to dance.
    BTW, Millie- Bette Midler- really? Ok, what ever makes you happy.

Leave a Reply

