The CNN/YouTube Debate

Tuesday, 07.24.07 

(Note: time-stamp problem has been fixed)

I must say I was quite impressed while watching the debate last night. Truth be said, I always enjoy listening to Presidential debates, but last night’s was definitely more memorable than most traditional formats in the past. I think, too, all the hype leading up to the debate led to a special interest in seeing what would come out of the YouTube experiment. Hopefully we will be seeing more of these types of debates in the future. I can just imagine how much work is involved behind the scenes as compared to a traditional debate, but the outcome was (and will be) definitely worth it.

I myself am an “undecided” voter, and although last night did not reveal anything which solidified a choice in my mind, I still think all the candidates in their own way did a really superb job considering they were addressing the issues in a novel format.

However, if I had to pick a moment I thought a candidate shined the most, I would have to say I was highly impressed with Hillary Clinton’s response to the definition of a liberal. A brilliant question coupled with a very intelligent response! She could have felt completely put on the spot and then subsequently faltered, yet she never flinched… instead she turned out an answer with grace and ease:

“QUESTION: Hi. My name is Rob Porter, and I’m from Irvine, California. I have a question for Hillary Clinton. Mrs. Clinton, how would you define the word ‘liberal?’ And would you use this word to describe yourself? Thank you.

(LAUGHTER)

CLINTON: You know, it is a word that originally meant that you were for freedom, that you were for the freedom to achieve, that you were willing to stand against big power and on behalf of the individual.

Unfortunately, in the last 30, 40 years, it has been turned up on its head and it’s been made to seem as though it is a word that describes big government, totally contrary to what its meaning was in the 19th and early 20th century.

I prefer the word “progressive,” which has a real American meaning, going back to the progressive era at the beginning of the 20th century.

I consider myself a modern progressive, someone who believes strongly in individual rights and freedoms, who believes that we are better as a society when we’re working together and when we find ways to help those who may not have all the advantages in life get the tools they need to lead a more productive life for themselves and their family.

So I consider myself a proud modern American progressive, and I think that’s the kind of philosophy and practice that we need to bring back to American politics.

COOPER: So you wouldn’t use the word “liberal,” you’d say “progressive.”

(APPLAUSE)”

I also thought Barak Obama shone brilliantly when he was the only candidate who tackled a question about minimum wage square on. While the others just blindly said that yes, they would work for minimum wage, he addressed the question much more realistically.

“OBAMA: Well, we can afford to work for the minimum wage because most folks on this stage have a lot of money. It’s the folks…

(APPLAUSE)

… on that screen who deserve — you’re doing all right, Chris, compared to, I promise you, the folks who are on that screen.

(LAUGHTER)

(APPLAUSE)

DODD: Not that well, I’ll tell you, Barack.

OBAMA: I mean, we don’t have — we don’t have Mitt Romney money, but…

(LAUGHTER)

But we could afford to do it for a few years. Most folks can’t. And that’s why we’ve got to fight and advocate for…

COOPER: Governor — Governor Richardson, yes?

RICHARDSON: Yes, I would.

COOPER: OK.

Senator Biden?

BIDEN: I don’t have Barack Obama money either.

(LAUGHTER)”

Now – of course – what would the blog be without some great screencaps of John at The Citadel? It seems like he made a quick jump back and forth between South Carolina and Washington to make an appearance on Late Edition on Sunday. Thanks Kitten, as always, for making these great screencaps available.

aef1.jpg

3d041.jpg

610b.jpg

8085.jpg

fcd61.jpg

3 Comments

Filed under Election 2008, Election Debates

3 responses to “The CNN/YouTube Debate

  1. mebz72

    I concur. I really enjoyed the debate last night. (Anderson saying they couldn’t find anyone to the left of Dennis Kucinich was hilarious.)
    BTW, that cap from Late Edition is hypnotizing. *stare*
    Is it just me or does anyone else think Mike Gravel is more then a little crazy?

  2. milliepip

    Yeah there were some pretty hilarious moments last night. I enjoyed the bit of humor here and there. Mike Gravel was indeed for lack of a better word “intense”. It was funny but at the same time awkward that he kept referring to the fact that he wasn’t getting as much air time as the others, supposedly. I didn’t care for Biden’s comment “There’s not a damn thing I like about you except your wife” (or something to that effect). Totally unprofessional and uncalled for, in my opinion.

    The screen cap from Late Edition is indeed somewhat hypnotizing. John has so much makeup on, though, that he looks almost the same color as the backdrop! I think that is unflattering. I prefer seeing him “au naturel” and sans makeup. I know they have to do it for the camera lighting, but sometimes it is just too much.

    He doesn’t look too happy in the last picture – kinda tired and dragged.

    But **oooh** the second to the last screencap he looks absolutely smashing! The way he is smiling and looking down at the computer is just too cute. He has a very nice side profile.

  3. mebz72

    I didn’t notice the makeup color, I was too busy staring at his eyes…
    While we’re talking about pics, I’m really digging the purple striped shirt in number 1!
    Oh, who are we kidding, he looks good in all of them.

Leave a Reply

