Tragedy in Minnesota

Thursday, 08.02.07 

As you probably have heard or read, there was an awful tragedy in Minneapolis, Minnesota yesterday afternoon, at the height of rush hour traffic nonetheless! Lined up bumper-to-bumper, vehicles succumbed under the buckling and ultimate ripping apart of this structure which spanned the width of the Mississippi River.

My brother lives in Minneapolis not very far from this bridge. When I first clicked on CNN.com and read this story my initial instinct instinct was to call him. I could not get through as all the phone circuits were tied up. Although I was pretty certain he was ok, the worst does go through your mind: was he driving on the bridge on his way home from work? What if I can’t get a hold of him?

Fortunately he later text messaged me and said that he was already home, to which I sighed a huge breath of relief. Then the eerie feeling crept inside me that for almost a dozen families, that sigh of relief will never come. The feeling lingered, and I said a few silent prayers. The people to whom my prayers were directed to don’t know me and I don’t know them, but there was an anonymous connection nonetheless, and I hope they find courage and strength to get through this.

I was going to post a few pictures here but then I realized it was not necessary and not my place. There are plenty of appropriate sources where one can find photos and videos – no doubt CNN will have additional coverage of the story and maybe John will take part in bringing us the latest news. If he does, I’m certain he will tell the story with the same sensitivity he conveyed when the Virginia Tech shootings occurred, as well as other national tragedies he has covered.

I’m just feeling blessed that he won’t be telling a story which could have been a lot more personal to me.

Let’s all take the time to count our blessings.

11 Comments

Filed under Current Events

11 responses to “Tragedy in Minnesota

  1. mebz72

    I’m glad that your brother is alright.
    I had that same feeling on 9/11, by sister arrived in NY on 9/10. You know that they’re alright, but still you have to check!
    The town I live in just got a new bridge over the Missouri River and I’m afraid that they have forgotten a bolt somewhere.

  2. cstkitten

    It makes you realize that you need to live everyday to its fullest, because you never know what is around the corner!

    I’m glad your brother is safe. My thoughts are with the families affected by this tragedy.

  3. Anonymous

    Well, you know where my mind goes with this – budget cuts. CNN was speculating whether this kind of thing will start happenings more often. I checked here: http://www.asce.org/reportcard/2005/page.cfm?id=103 my state, Pennsylvania, gets a D rating and Minnesota not much better. Great.

    Tax cuts for the wealthy, the money pit that is the war and spending cuts equal terrible things like this bridge collapse. Inferior products from China.
    Not enough money or will from our government to repair New Orleans. What’s next?

    Millie – I’d be interested to know from your brother what the MN governor and Sen. Norm Coleman has or hasn’t done in relation to bills having to do with infrastructure.

    It would be wonderful if John, or someone there at CNN could swoop in and look into this and do one of those Investigation Units about it.

  4. phillyjulie

    No he di’nt!

    Bush just blamed the bridge collapse on “Democrats in Congress”
    The man is without shame.

    “They failed to pass the needed legislation and get it to my desk.” (rough quote)

    They haven’t even gotten all of the bodies picked up and Bush does this?

    That’s my post above this one, btw, I didn’t realize I wasn’t signed in.

  5. mebz72

    He said that? I didn’t see his press statement. Ah, man.

  6. mebz72

    You know, I was just watching the governor of Minnesota, and while I certanly don’t know him or how good of a governor he is, he seems to come across as an intelligent, reasonable person. Which is not something I find myself thinking about people in government very often.

  7. phillyjulie

    I gasped when I heard him say that. I did more reading and the state is mainly responsible for infrastructure funds, so I’m guessing this falls mainly on Gov Pawlenty’s lap. All I can say is I look forward to Sen. Al Franken taking over Coleman’s seat in ’08.

  8. phillyjulie

    I’m sure he’s intelligent and maybe reasonable – but how does he run his state? Does he take care of the people or wealthy campaign contributors?

  9. Millie, I’m glad to hear that your brother is OK. I can’t believe Bush said that…wiat yes I can. That man lacks a filter between what little brain he has and his mouth.

    I hope to see John covering part of this terrible story. I remember when he Anchored AC 360 for the first two nites after Varginai Tech happenned. I couln’t think of anyone better to anchor such a tagedy. John has a way of making you think that everything will be OK. He did such a great job, far better than Anderson did when he came back that week.

  10. milliepip

    Thanks guys for all your concerns. When it is your own family you have to think about, the tragedy seems all too much more painfully real.

  11. Jeanmarie

    We seem to always be hearing about our out-of-date, crumbling infrastructure lately and this latest story is the worst example thus far. It is very clear that if we do not invest in updating our infrastructure the Minneapolis bridge collapse may be the tip of the iceberg. As a country we seem to spend so much time on other threats and ignore a very real one right here at home that is definitely within our power to combat.

Leave a Reply

