A Top Ten, Part Deux

Tuesday, 08.28.07 

Yesterday I brought to you my top 10 favorite John King pictures, shots where he is casual and away from the camera. Even though we have oodles and oodles of screencaps available thanks to Kitten et al., I nonetheless yesterday wanted to show a fun, more rarely seen side of John.

Today I continue with the Top 10 series. Again, I wanted to make this fun and light-hearted. So, in that spirit, I present to you:

The Top Ten Reasons Why We Tune Into John

(aka “There really are 12 reasons listed, but who’s counting?”)

10. The impressive tie collection.

blogties.jpg

(Credit to Book Asylum for the above tie collection representing January 2007, which is also posted at her website).

9 1/2.  It should be noted that John is humble about compliments to his appearance!

9. The sneaking ways he brings up Boston.

boston_1.jpg

8. His ability to come up with quick-witted banter.

julky-19l.jpg

(Here John is discussing the “Birds and the Bees” with Jack Cafferty)

7. The wearing of his heart on his sleeve when it comes to his kids Noah and Hannah.

july-19j.jpg

(John mentions here how he reads Harry Potter with his son.)

6. He knows how to deliver a really good speech!

hobart051406a.jpg

5. John always asks intelligent and thoughtful questions of interview subjects.

6317.jpg

4. His compassion when covering difficult stories.

419a.jpg

(John is discussing the day schedule of one of the Virginia Tech shooting victims, Emily Hilscher.)

3. His ability to get up close and personal with his subject matter.

1f59.jpg

2. His professionalism, honesty and credibility.

4fb0.jpg

1 1/2. His ability to make the mind-numbing primary calendar understandable and even interesting.

c0361.jpg

(Ok, so the above is not a 2008 primary calendar but you get the point. Thanks Javagirl for the pic! Here is a US map with the number of delegates assigned to each State:)

400969805_d51f902899_o1.jpg

And, the number one reason?

1. Anyone who rubs elbows with presidents and royalty, senators and celebrities, yet maintains he is just as equally intrigued and fascinated by interviewing everyday folk, is all right in my book!

kingj8.jpg

10 Comments

Filed under A "Top Ten" List, Just For Fun

10 responses to “A Top Ten, Part Deux

  1. Millie, those are great reasons why we love to tune into John. His tie collection is almost as nice as Anderson’s…LOL!!! I like reason number 7 because I think it’s cute whe he talks about his kids.

    I think number 1 is a great reason to tune into John. I love when he interveiws ordinary everyday people. I just think that John is an all around good journalist and person 😀

  2. milliepip

    Yup, I think you hit the nail right on the head. He is an all-around good journalist and good person!

    It wasn’t easy whittling the list down to 10 (12 actually, lol) but I think it is a good representation of why we like to watch John!!!

  3. milliepip

    I finally uploaded an avatar! I am a HUGE “Windie” (Gone With the Wind Fan)

  4. Anonymous

    YES! My reasons made the cut. Although I noticed that *one* of my suggestions is missing. Huh, can’t imagine why you wouldn’t post that for all the world to see. It’s a mystery. 😀
    Frankly, I’m amazed at your ability to whittle it down to only 12!
    BTW, I went home for lunch and JK was talking the second I turned the TV on- made me smile. I think he was wearing day #25’s tie.

  5. mebz72

    Ok, Anonymous up there is me.
    I hate it when I’m signed out and don’t know it.

  6. milliepip

    I just noticed my avatar didn’t pop up! Dang! I’ll have to go back and try again….

  7. milliepip

    Yay, Miss Scarlett is now showing up as my avatar. Just call me Millie O’Hara from now on. lol.

  8. mebz72

    Ooo, nice. I love Gone with the Wind! Rhett is so cool.

  9. Pingback: Playing Catch-Up With Current Screencaps and, uh… A Dance « johnthenewsking

  10. Pingback: Remember Reason #1 1/2 Why We Like To Tune In To John? « johnthenewsking

Leave a Reply

