The Eve Of 9/11

Monday, 9.10.07  

Tomorrow is a day that needs no special introduction or explanation (ie timeline of events, etc) here on my blog.  There are other appropriate places to find that information.

That said, almost everyone can easily tell you where they were and what they were doing when they heard the news.  Even though EVERYONE has a memory or story to tell, it is still riveting to hear individual accounts – accounts from people you know, from strangers, from… well, from just about everyone.   I guess that “September 11 ‘where I was’ stories” are so riveting – no matter who is telling them – because we were ALL bound together that day in the same shock, awe and grief.  It was a day of shared consciousness across the country.

Of course I have my own story – can you imagine watching everything unfold live on TV with a classroom of 4th graders and then having to explain why a group of people hate the United States enough to do such a thing? Not an easy task, by any stretch of the imagination.

Interestingly, I can still remember what I was doing the evening BEFORE Sept 11th.  I clearly remember watching CNN and catching the Larry King Live show.  I still remember the guest he had on that evening: John Edward.  No, not the future vice presidential and eventual presidential candidate, but the psychic medium.  Edward’s show – Crossing Over – was gaining a special popularity and thus he was on Larry King to promote his work and new books.

When I think back to my memories of how September 11 unfolded, it never ceases to amaze me that the Larry King show also always comes to the forefront of my mind.  It gives me goosebumps to think that perhaps there were victims of September 11 who might have been watching that same show at the same time, not even fathoming what was to become of the next day.  Can you imagine watching John Edward talking about the afterlife one night and then suddenly being “gone” the next night???  To this day, that particular Larry King episode has given me pause to think..  It reminds me how precious each really day is.  Miles Levin’s sentiment says it like nothing else: “Whatever life we get is bonus.”

Here are some beautiful September 11th tribute photos I have come across:

tribute1.jpg

1221.jpg

This is Somerset, Pennsylvania:

800px-flight_93_memorial_fence.jpg

And a memorial at the Pentagon:

02_911pentagonceremmilitarysalute.jpg

Here is an amazing photo collage of all the September 11, 2001 victims, (excluding the terrorists).  For a larger view, click here.

800px-911_victims2.jpg

Tomorrow, I have a special piece to share.  It is an account written by John especially for “johnthenewsking”. He details his actions and thoughts on that fateful September day – as a journalist, as a father and as an ordinary person reacting to the extraordinary unfolding of events. 

Have a blessed evening everyone and see you tomorrow!

4 Comments

Filed under September 11th

4 responses to “The Eve Of 9/11

  1. mebz72

    There has been so much talk about Iraq today and recently and not nearly as much about 9/11. Granted it’s the 6th anniversary and not as “big”(for lack of a better word) of an anniversary as last year, but this post helped remind me what tomorrow is about.
    6 years later, I still remember what I was wearing that day, I remember what the weather was like, I remember what I did all day, I remember giving blood, watching the BBC and CNN. So many things that can never be forgotten.
    It was the first time in my life when I realized that you could wake up in one world, and go to sleep in another.

    I’m looking forward to see what you have for us tomorrow. I’m all a-twitter.

  2. milliepip

    If anyone else wants to share their moment of hearing the news about September 11th, please do share it here! Mebz: “a-twitter”! tee hee.

  3. mebz72

    “Twitterpated” wasn’t that from Bambi?

  4. I was in 9th grade and in geography class and we had just finished taking a test. It was dark in the room, becuase we were supposed to watch a video after the test but the teacher put the tv on and we saw one of the towers collapse. And the whole rest of the day it was all we could talk about was a plane hitting the pentagon, and the towers. We just couldn’t believe that that had happend. It was so so so surreal, and I like mebz, I too can remember the weather and what I was wearing.

Leave a Reply

