Election 2004 Flashback

Sunday, 11.04.07

This morning, I sifted through several videos from the Election 2004 campaign trail to bring you some video caps of John crisscrossing the country as he followed along with President Bush and Senator Kerry wooing the voters. No point in rehashing the election outcome of course, but I thought readers might enjoy seeing John as he filed reports for CNN from various corners of our country. From the east coast to the west, here are some stand-up shots of John on the road during the months leading up to the November 2004 election.

(Note: The video quality from the CNN archives isn’t the sharpest, so I apologize for not having clearer shots.)

May 2004 – Michigan

may2004.jpg

July 2004 – Ohio

july2004.jpg

August 2004 – Oregon

august2004.jpg

August 2004 – California

august2004b.jpg

August 2004 – Nevada

augustc.jpg

September 2004 – Florida

september-2004.jpg

September 2004 – Pennsylvania

penn2.jpg

October 2004 – Iowa

iowaoctober.jpg

Next, this is slightly off topic, yet it was a concern during the ’04 campaign. While browsing old videos for today’s blog, I happened to stumble across a piece John covered about the rising cost of fuel in May of 2004. The report was summarized thusly: “The price of gas is averaging $2 a gallon nationwide, and drivers aren’t laughing as they pay pumped-up prices.”

Here’s a graphic from the May ’04 story, followed by John at the White House reporting on this issue.

gasoline.jpg

may2004b.jpg

I forgot when there was even a time that the national average for a gallon of gas was $1.48! And if we weren’t laughing then, then what the heck are we doing now? I can just imagine that during election 2012, we’ll be reminiscing back to the good ol’ days when gas was “only” averaging over $3.00 per gallon.

OK, that last picture of John King at the White House is just a gratuitous video cap, but what can I say?? It went along with the report so I figured I might as well include it. It did also occur to me that maybe, just maybe the pictures in today’s post be would construed, by some, gratuitous as well…

Gee, I don’t know how anyone would get that idea.

Enjoy the remainder of your weekend everyone and have a great upcoming week!

6 Comments

Filed under From The Archives

6 responses to “Election 2004 Flashback

  1. Millie

    Does anybody know if John might be subbing this week for AC 360 or is Anderson going to be back on Monday?

  2. mebz72

    I don’t know for sure, but my guess is that Anderson will be back tomorrow night.

    Thank you for the screen caps, gratuitous or not. Pic spams make me happy.

  3. Millie

    pic spams? hmm! I guess they would make one happy, especially if they are JK spam!!

    I’m diggin’ the one in California. Just something about that shot that I really like.

  4. mebz72

    I can see that.
    I’ve been working on some older screen caps, these turned out better then the first ones. I’ll put them up at the yahoo group. One thing I don’t like is that they always make them smaller. Do you know, is there anyway to save pics at the yahoo group and keep them nice and big?

  5. I hope Anderson is back this week!!! If he isn’t you’ll hear me scream…lol!!! However if the man isn’t there, I wouldn’t mind John King filing in for him.

    Those are some nice pics of John 😀 I wish gas was $2 a gallon. It’s better than it almost costing $3 which it almost does now.

  6. Millie

    When it gets to $3 and higher I almost feel like tossing my cookies everytime I am at the pump. A tank that would fill up for about $25 dollars back in early 04 now fills up for well over $50. It’s horrible, just horrible, because I have to fill my tank up sometimes twice a week! Bleeech!

Leave a Reply

