Change is Good And A JK360 Recap

Tuesday, 11.06.07

Ok, so this is yet another look for the blog in recent days, but to be honest I didn’t like the last layout so much after all… the world of blogging is sometimes all about experimentation, so please bear with me, folks!

For those who were just getting used to the other look, I apologize for another change so soon, but I think I have finally settled on a layout that I like. For example, icons and other text lines are at the top of the page so you don’t have to scroll all the way to the bottom to view category/tag information and comment stats. I’m a stickler for details like that, lol!

Maybe the gray will take come getting used to, but other than that everything else is in place the way I like it.

And now, on to the review of last night’s ACJK360!

I know a lot of Anderfans are sorely missing Mr. Cooper right now after more than a week of sitting through guest anchors, but the good thing for us Kingfans, the flip side of the coin is that we get to enjoy John hosting the show!

Last night, he started out the program talking about tensions brewing in Pakistan. “A nuclear timebomb perhaps ready to explode” is how he put it, highlighting President Musharraf’s role in the recent escalations and the U.S. reaction to these developments.

Peter Bergen reported on the relations between the White House and Pakistan. Bergen next appeared with Reza Aslan for a 360 roundtable discussion of the current situation and the potential for absolutely disturbing consequences.

360c.jpg

Tom Foreman gave us a gripping explanation about the tension between Pakistan and Afghanistan and why the US should be worried. Regarding concerns over nuclear capabilities, he bleakly put it this way, “If Pakistan descends into chaos, the Taliban and other extremists could rush into the country and try to seize those nukes. And then what?”

360d.jpg

As doomy and gloomy as that report was, I must move on to my next topic…

I was intrigued to hear John interview Joel Osteen, who is a prominent figure right here in Houston. (His church used to be the Rocket’s Compaq Arena, which should tell you the size of his local congregation.) Osteen is on the circuit to publicize his new book, “Becoming A Better You”.

360e.jpg

Now, if you have been reading this blog for any length of time you know that I rarely include my own religious/political/social opinions about the very material I cover; however, this is one of the times I have to make an exception and speak my mind.

I could not believe my ears when Joel Osteen compared gays to drug addicts and that he invites both groups to his church so they can get some “help”. I am sorry to say, but his statements just reeked with hypocrisy.

360z.jpg

Why? Well, just before he made the “help” remark, he stated, “I think God wants everybody to be prosperous, to be healthy, to have good relationships…he wants us to be blessed.”

Allrighty, let me get this straight… According to Osteen, God wants everybody to have good relationships, but whooops, there is a condition? God’s lawyers inserted an asterisk right after His definition of “everybody”?

Sooo… If you are in a happy heterosexual relationship, you’re given God’s blessing… but, heaven forbid, if you happen to be in a happy homosexual relationship, well, that is negated according to the fine print, and therefore you need “help” in the same way a drug addict needs help? Excuse me Mr. Osteen?

In the past, I generally have liked Joel Osteen’s positive and affirming messages, but this is one time that I am totally turned off by what he had to say. Thank goodness John abruptly dove into another question right after Joel Osteen made that “help” remark. I don’t think I could have stood hearing him make any more hypocritical statements.

Why does this irritate me so much? I’ll tell you why. My brother is in a very loving, very happy and healthy relationship with an incredible man who is loved in our family just as much as my other brothers’ spouses. To hear someone like Joel lump my brother in the same category as a drug addict is flat-out insulting and rips into the very core of this issue, the very core of who my brother is. Insinuating he needs “help” is an affront not only to my brother and his partner, but to my family and to the millions of gay citizens around the world. Joel Osteen really does not have a clue about homosexuality and it’s a shame he is going to make millions selling a book about “Becoming A Better You”.

BTW, regarding Joel’s words about homosexuality, other bloggers are upset about this as well.

This concludes for today Millie’s stepping out of her box and venting her opinion on a political/social/religious issue. *steps carefully back into box*

cardboardbox11.jpg

And now, back to: “Just the facts, ma’am, just the facts” (note: disclaimer ahead)

After the Erica Hill piece about Oprah’s Leadership Academy scandal, Raw Politics came to us live from Iowa… Tom was there with the Election Express bus as his backdrop.

360g.jpg

360h.jpg

How cute was that, that Tom joked about how John needs to come on over and fill up the bus with gas, and he (John) offered instead to come on down to Iowa and bring Tom an ethanol-powered space heater!

360i.jpg

And what about last night’s Shot Of The Day? It was none other than King Tut’s mummy unveiled.. the “Boy King”! Isn’t his sarcophagus just amazingly beautiful?

360j.jpg

360k.jpg

I thought John’s banter with Erica was exceptionally lively last night – listening to him go on about his age was actually quite amusing!* Here is the transcript of their exchange:

“KING: Not too shabby. No more stone condo, but the boy king will be resting comfortably inside a climate-controlled Plexiglas box to keep his mummy from turning to dust. And finally, something that makes me feel young.

HILL: Oh, John.

KING: I was waiting. I’m waiting. Help me out.

HILL: You don’t have to worry about feeling young, John.

KING: Much better.

HILL: Didn’t you just have your 30th birthday or something in.

KING: Thank you, Erica. The 21st is next week.”

That’s a wrap for last night’s summary of AC360. To all my wonderful readers, have a great day!

*disclaimer: my “just the facts, ma’am” approach to blogging doesn’t apply when it comes to my biased musings about John!

6 Comments

Filed under Current Events, General Discussion, Guest Hosting

6 responses to “Change is Good And A JK360 Recap

  1. I am missing Anderson very much, however since he couldn’t be bothered to show up to his own show yesterday I was very happy to see John. I think he does an excellent job filling in for someone who was not on last nite.

    Joel Osteen’s comments last nite were out of line. He made it seem like being gay is a disease and that it needs to be cured. That is wrong and it was very judgmental on his part to say it. If a person is in a happy healthy loving realtionship, that’s all that matters. It doesn’t matter what race, gender, religion those in the relationship are. As long as they are happy together that’s all that matters.

    I like when John interviews people He is always very polite to them and gives them a chance to answer before he asks another question.

    If someone can’t be bothered to show up tonight, then I hope we get John again. I really do enjoy seeing on 360.

  2. Millie

    Yup, I agree, he was out of line.

    I really hate using the blog as a soapbox for my opinions (unless it is an opinion about John King, lol!) but this was one time I just could not go by without sounding off. It still has me bothered. Not so much because I care what this one individual (Osteen) thinks but because he’s a man who goes about preaching such things!!! People who look up to him might soak up his premises about homosexuality and that is just sad.

    I stayed up real late working on this post because I wanted to make sure I said it just right!!! After about 2000 revisions (LOL!) I think I got it out the way I wanted it to be said. Blogging is s tedious process, folks!

    BTW, the banter during The Shot was too cute! I enjoyed getting to see John let his funny side show. I also thought it was cute how he sneaked in the Boston Red Sox reference right before The Shot.

  3. You are exactly right, when Joel Osteen speaks people listen. And the sad thing is some people just assume that becuase he is a preacher everything he says is right. He’s influencing alot of people and not in the best way either.

    I love seeing John’s funny side. He can be very funny when he wants to be.

    Now since I highly doubt that someone will bother to show up for his own show tonight, I hope John fills in for that someone.

  4. mebz72

    Hey girls!
    I think you’re exactly right about Joel Osteen, I can appreciate his “feel good” message, but as soon as he said “like a drug addict” when talking about homosexuality, he lost me.
    With that aside, I thought 360 was great last night. I love international news, so the first 20 minutes were right up my ally. If you haven’t read any of Peter Bergen’s books you really should, the man knows his stuff, and is a very gifted writer.
    May I be allowed a small rant as well?
    About the Oprah school scandal, I think she is handling the situation very well, and I don’t blame her at all. However, the clips they played from the press conference I felt were all about Oprah. “I felt this… I felt that…” I’m sorry, but this isn’t about her, it is about the children who were in danger and had the courage to stand up. When children are the ones being hurt, I could really care less how Oprah feels.
    OK, I’m done now.

  5. Millie

    I was thinking the exact same thing – that Joel was there to present a “feel good message” and I was really anticipating in a good way what he had to say – but like you said, he lost me at the same point too!

    You are right about Oprah’s press conference. I didn’t think of it that way but what you said made sense.

  6. Once again, Joel Osteen’s utter failure to uphold Christian truth in an age of apostacy only further supports what is all too clear about his teaching: it is spiritually bankrupt.

    Here is a link to articles our ministry has created on Osteen’s heretical compromise that is anointed as “Christianity” today.

    http://www.spiritwatch.org/behindsmile.htm

Leave a Reply

