An Unexpected Encounter And Back-To-Back Guest Hosting

Wednesday, 11.21.07

(programming note: John is hosting AC360 again tonight!!)

I work in downtown Houston. This afternoon, while walking along the city sidewalk to run an errand at my bank, I passed by Shell Plaza and happened to notice a shiny, jet-black Lincoln Towncar parked in front of the building. A uniformed police officer was sitting behind the driver’s wheel. “Hmm”, I thought to myself, “Now, that’s odd.” Unless this was the new model for Houston police cars, I figured the officer must be waiting to pick up someone important. Sure enough, not 5 seconds after I had that thought, who should walk right past me but Former Secretary of State James Baker!!!

At first I had to do a double take… then it dawned on me it had to be him because he was walking towards the parked Towncar. Strange, though, he didn’t have any entourage with him – he was all by himself as he walked out of the Shell building.

I stammered, “Hello Secretary Baker” and he smiled and said hello. He then disappeared into his waiting car and it sped off… I stood there dumbfounded for about a minute or two afterward. It all happened so fast, I didn’t get a chance to tell him, “By the way, that was a nice interview you had with John King earlier this year.” lol.

baker.jpg

On to last night’s AC360 review…

The program kicked off with yet another crime story: an American international student caught up in a murder mystery.

tuesday.jpg

Amanda Knox, a college student from Seattle, was living in Italy in an apartment near Rome with another student, Meridith Kurcher. Knox had a secret dark side, as chronicled on her online blog. After involvements in sex and drug crimes, Meridith was found dead in their aparment, apparently after fighting off a rape assault from Amanda Knox’s Italian boyfriend.

It is interesting to see how the Italian media are responding to this scandal. Apparently it is a big story over there – the media is swarming all over it and they don’t appear to have any sympathy for this American student.

Chad Meyers and Ali Velchi were up next, discussing again travel delays and oil prices, respectively. John said that with these prices, he would walk back to Washington!

He then spoke with Larry King regarding last night’s LKL program about Donda West, Kanye West’s mother. The doctor who performed her plastic surgery, Jan Adams,was to be interviewed but he left the set, live on air – he agreed then disagreed to be on the show! Supposedly there were some last-minute legal developments which prompted him to make this bizarre departure.

This was a first for Larry King. “It was kinda weird” he said. Larry talked about people fighting on his show, and even a live fire on the set – but never a live walk-off. John told Larry he handled the live situation “cool as a cucumber”!

David Gergen and Hank Sheinkopf were guests for political analysis on the program.

tuesday3.jpg

Hillary And Barack are jabbing at each other over expereince in foregin policy. Does living overseas for a few years during his youth give Barack Obama foregin policy experience? Hillary thinks not. They are both neck and neck in Iowa.

John reported that in New Hampshire, new polls show “Senator Obama narrowing the gap among likely voters, with John Edwards gaining about an inch of ground since September. New Mexico Governor Bill Richardson, on the other hand, doubling his support in New Hampshire since then.”

Warren Jeff’s sentencing was next discussed with Gary Tuchman. Jeffs was sentenced to 5 years to life, with 7 years being the average for his type of crime. He will be serving out his time in a Utah state prison, but he’s expected to stay there for only a short time due to the fact that the state of Arizona is also planning on putting Jeffs on trial.

“Keeping Them Honest” focused on Dennis Hasterts’ early departure from congress. His retirement will cost the citizens of Illinois. The state will have to conduct a special election in order to have someone filling in the last few months of Hastert’s term, costing every county in his district over $1 million.

The program closed with RawPolitics and The Shot of the day:

tuesday4.jpg

tuesday5.jpg

The Shot came from Missouri – a deer on the road crosses over a deputy’s car and doesn’t even touch the hood. What an amazing feat of perfect timing!

I was planning to break from blogging tomorrow for Turkey Day, but since John is hosting tonight, I nonetheless want to post a re-cap of the show. I’ll just take a quick break from the food tomorrow and sneak in some time to write the review!

If you are traveling for the holidays, I hope you have a safe and wonderful trip! (Just watch out for flying deer, lol)

Enjoy your turkey and have a blessed holiday!

tuesday7.jpg

10 Comments

Filed under Current Events, General Discussion, Guest Hosting

10 responses to “An Unexpected Encounter And Back-To-Back Guest Hosting

  1. I was so happy to see John hosting 360 again. He has done such a great job. Maybe AC neeeds to take a look at 360 this week and see how good the show can be.

    The story about the murdered girl in Italy was just confusing. All I can say is everyone involved seems a little off kilter…lol!!!

    Hillary And Barack need to grow up, they are both acting like children. They need to stop atacking each other. One of them needs to be the bigger person and not attack the other.

    I wish Warren Jeffs would spend more time in jail. 7 out of 10 years dosen’t seem fair. He is a terrible person and does not deserve freedom like everyone else does.

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING, EVERYONE!!! 😀 😀 😀

  2. mebz72

    Being a proud Missourian myself, I got to tell you, those deer are killer. My sister got hit by a Kamikaze deer once. I say that, because the deer hit her, not the other way around. It ran right into the side door. We all decided that it had a death wish.
    I’ve also hear of people hitting deer and then making sausage out of them. But that is another story.
    You know, that story from Italy, right up to the murder part, could have been any number of nights from my college years. 😉 Just joking! I can’t even remember the last hash-alcohol induced orgy I had.
    That reminds me, has anyone read American: The Book by Jon Stewart and the Daily Show? Well, in it they have “first hand” accounts of what the Supreme Court is like. And one of them was a giant Hash-orgy with “someone playing a Sitar off to the side.” Quite comical.

    Ditto! Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. They failed to show the PlumpyNut segment 😦 Damn dr. on LKL!!! Sorry, I am just going through Anderwhidrawals right now. I don’t know how you John fans do it. Sometimes it may be a few days before you see him again, and you don’t get to see him for an hour everyday like us Anderfans get to see Anderson. I hate Anderwithdrawals 😦

    Mebz, that is disgusting that people make susgae out of a deer they hit. Gross!!!

  4. mebz72

    Yeah, I hear ya with the withdrawal. That sucks. I go through overall CNN withdrawal. Let me share this story with you, you will understand my pain, AC.
    I was in New Orleans for a week this past summer doing some volunteer work and I had no access to TV for days. Now, I’m not complaining, because I was working on completely destroyed homes. How can you really complain? But anyway, guess who was in NOLA that same week? If you guessed Anderson Cooper, give yourself 10 points. Now, the one thing I said before the trip, was “Man, how cool would it be if I ran into Anderson Cooper?” I MISSED HIM. All because I didn’t have access to TV and didn’t know that he was in the city. I found out the day I got back home!!! Even my grandma said “Did you know Anderson Cooper was in New Orleans?” Thanks a lot grandma!
    The Anderwithdrawal was big that day.

  5. Oh poor Mebz. 😦 That is terrible!!! I am sorry sorry you missed meeting him. He is just one of the most nice and kind and genuine people you could ever meet. I truly hope you get the opportunity to meet him one day. It would be really cool to meet him in NOLA.

  6. mebz72

    I knew you would understand my pain.

  7. Millie

    Amazing, that would have been cool if you had met him, but I can imagine how painful that was to know after the fact that he was in New Orleans. I would have kicked myself if I had visited a city and JK was there and didn’t know until later, lol!

    Yeah that murder story was confusing. It took a while for me to figure out how to summarize it here on the blog.

  8. acanderfan

    Wow Millie, sounds like you had an interesting encounter 😀

    HAPPY TURKEY DAY, EVERYONE!!!

  9. Millie

    Yeah it was pretty cool. It’s not every day that you run into James Baker and get to say hello!!

Leave a Reply

