A Three-Peat

Thursday, 11.22.07

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

happythanksgiving.jpg

I was planning on taking a break from posting today, but since John hosted 360 yesterday for the third night in a row, I decided the only thing a girl can do is blog about it! lol!

The program opened with some new developments in the Natalee Holloway case.

thursday2.jpg

Authorities now have three suspects in custody – the same three individuals who were held previously in connection with Natalee’s disappearance: Joran VanDerSloot and brothers Deepak and Satish Kalpoe. Apparently there is “new evidence” in the case against the trio, but as Susan Candiotti reported, this evidence is not being revealed yet.

John spoke with VanDerSloot’s U.S. attorney about the developments. Joe Tacopina really didn’t reveal much other than that the “new evidence” is insignificant or irrelevant.

thursday3.jpg

Next, John covered a subject he knows all-too-well: campaign-o-rama! He explained how Billy Gardner, New Hampshire’s Secretary of State, finalized his state’s primary date. Here is the master calender as it stands now:

thursday4.jpg

thursday5.jpg

This means John will likely be on the road for a long stretch in January! After reading what he blogged about on his travel experiences, I’m sure that he’s got the routine down pat and can do it in his sleep. After all he’s only going on his, let’s see, 6th election season now?

Next, David Gergen was a guest on the show to discuss former Press Secretary Scott McClellan’s new book and allegations that the Bush administration was not forthcoming to his Press Staff with information about the Valerie Plame identity-leaking case.

thursday7.jpg

thursday6.jpg

It was pretty disheartening to watch archive footage (from 2003) of Scott McClellan at the press podium saying the following about Scooter Libby and Karl Rove:

“They’re important members of our White House team, and that’s why I spoke with them, so that I could come back to you and say that they were not involved. I — I had no doubt with — of that in the beginning, but I like to check my information to make sure it’s accurate before I report back to you. And that’s exactly what I did. “

Yikes. If that leaves a bad taste in my mouth, I can only imagine that it probably makes journalists who cover the White House want to just cringe even worse. If his allegations are true, it sure does leave a big stinky cloud over the White House pressroom briefings.

On a non-stinky note, Anderfans were treated last night to a segment of Cooper’s Glenn Beck interview. Beck is promoting his new book “An Inconvenient Book: Real Solutions to the World’s Biggest Problems”. He sat down with Anderson for a discussion of the book’s topics, including, among other things, issues such as illegal immigration, corporate greed and the war on drugs. Here is a YouTube video of a portion of that interview in which Cooper asks Beck a series of both personal and political “Rapid Fire” questions:

For last night’s “What were they thinking?” segment, a video was aired in which a Venezuelan lawmaker angrily decks a journalist. Iris Varela barged onto a live TV set and slapped around a reporter who had done a story several years ago about the death of her infant son. She accused him of slandering her in the story – and knocking him around on live TV was her payback! You can watch the video here. (Click the video button to the right of the story.)

John added, “I’ve been cussed at by politicians. I’ve been glared at by politicians. I’ve never been slapped or thumped with a microphone. That’s all new — a whole new world for me.”

Chad Meyers was up next with another holiday travel update. This was his third appearance in a row on AC360 – something he normally does not get to do.

In the “Keeping Them Honest” segment, David Mattingely reported on Hospital mixups in medication dosing, which has received some attention in the news lately after Dennis Quaid’s newborn twins were given an overdose of the medicine Heparin, an anti-blood clot formula.

thursday20.jpg

Quaid’s twins are thankfully recovering, but Mattingley goes on to report that there have been documented cases of death in situations were 1,000 times the dose were administered! The cause? Poor labeling of the concentration strength. This was an alarming story but it’s one that David Mattingley did a excellent job of reporting on.

On to Raw Politics…it was all pie and turkey!

tuesday30.jpg

thursday10.jpg

Last but not least, The Shot of the day was truly comical last night. It started with John talking about the traditional blowing-up of Macy’s parade balloons.

thursday12.jpg

Then, Erica piped in, “I’ll see your inflatable animals, and I will raise you some ‘Dramatic Animal Video.'”

thursday13.jpg

The next image was of an 85-pound turkey (!!!) submitted by a viewer in Minnesota.

thursday14.jpg

John’s reaction to the size of that bird was rather cute!

thursday15.jpg

That’s all folks, for today. Enjoy the rest of your Thanksgiving Day with all its blessings and thanks for stopping by!

10 Comments

Filed under Current Events, Guest Hosting, Holidays

10 responses to “A Three-Peat

  1. mebz72

    Well, I for one am thankful that you decided to blog today. It was a nice treat after the craziness of family all day.
    I love “The Shot” cap. ‘Cause I had the same look on my face, that was one big turkey!

  2. I was a bad 360 and John fan wednesday nite. I saw very little of the show. OK honeslty the only part I really saw was Anderson talking to Glenn Beck. I ahd to get my Anderfix in. I am going through serious Anderwithdrawals and I hope to see him back on monday. If not, Millie and Mebz may hear me scream very loud…LOL!!! I would however like to say that I have very much enjoyed John filling in for Anderson this week. He brings an energy to the show that usualy just isn’t there. I’d like to see him host more often. I shouldn’t have said that becuase now that means Anderson will probably be off even more than he already is…LOL!!!

    I hope everyone had a fantastic thanksgiving 🙂

  3. mebz72

    I’ve seen that Glen Beck -AC clip several times. I love it. Wasn’t it good to see him back on the old red brick set! Just like old times. “Will you learn how to say his name one day?”- that was hysterical.

  4. It was good, to see Anderson back on the old red brick set. That was when 360 was it’s best. Anderson’s interview was the bst hour of television that I have seen in a long time. Mebz, on you tube they have a little extened version of the rapid fire segement..it’s great. The best part is when Glenn calls Anderson a bastard becuase he is only 40 years old. And I loved when Anderson said the best thing in his life was sleep and Glenn said that was sad…LOL!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kkBQtiZimJ0

  5. mebz72

    I actually watched the entire interview, which is the only time in my life I’ve watched more than 30 seconds of Glen Beck. It was very good. I liked when Glen called him “Mr. 60 minutes”

  6. I loved when Glenn called Anderson “Mr.60 Minute” becuase of how Anderson had his hand on his chin…too funny. Anderson does that all the time…lol!!! It was a great interview, and VERY entertaining. I love when we get to see Anderson’s silly side because normally we don’t see it very often.

  7. Millie

    Yeah I agree that it is nice to see Anderson’s silly side… amazing he thinks himself that he is too skinny… that he wants to GAIN ten pounds!!

    I’ve often wondered how John lost all that weight. He was never fat, but his face used to be more filled out than it is now. I wonder if he followed a special diet or what?

  8. Anderson is fine the way he is. When I had my arm around him back in May, I didn’t think he was too skinny. In fact I thought he was just right 😀

    I bet John followed a special diet. He was never fat, like you said Millie, but his face does seem thinner now. He is very handsome now. Personally I think he looks better now than he did when he was younger. The older he gets the better looking he gets.

  9. Millie

    Like wine…. he gets better with age!!! lol!

  10. So true Millie, so true 😀

Leave a Reply

