Debate Preparations

Monday, 11.26.07

Good evening! I hope everyone has had a chance to settle back into their normal routines after this fabulous holiday weekend. (I know I have, but it wasn’t easy! lol.)

The Republican YouTube debate is still two days away, but there is plenty of behind-the scenes work going on at the Progress Energy Center’s Mahaffey Theater in St. Petersburg, Florida. Here is a citizen reporter taking his viewers on a tour of what is going on around the stage areas:

Here is another debate preview video:

And how about this related gem? “A Short History Of YouTube Politics”:

And, for those of you who missed it the first time around, here is John in the spin room granting an impromptu interview to Shelbinator earlier this year after the Democratic YouTube debate:

Now that the first YouTube experimental debate has come and gone, there is plenty of buzz and speculation about the upcoming Republican version. For example, computerword.com has already compiled a top ten list of the funniest videos submitted to YouTube. And the ever-fabulous Jeanne Moos did a piece on some of the more “hard-hitting” submissions. Which videos will make the cut? We’ll find out on Wednesday!

Did you know that there are a couple of Florida straw polls going on Wednesday as well? Since the Republican front-runner is literally a toss-up at this point, it’s very likely that the candidates are on pins and needles about all the events coming up in a few days. If one candidate comes out with some big momentum, it may be the start of a clearer picture of who a front-runner may turn out to be.

Wednesday should be an interesting day indeed.

10 Comments

Filed under Election 2008, Election Debates

10 responses to “Debate Preparations

  1. Wednesday nite should be good. I really enjoyed the youtube democrat debate. I like the concept of just everyday americans getting to ask the questions. As for the host of the debate he had better do a better job than he is doing tonight hosting his own show, becuase the show is simply dreadful tonight. The show was much much much better last week with John hosting.

    I just thought of something. I would like to see John host a debate. That would be very interesting πŸ˜€

  2. Millie

    Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with tonite’s AC360 show. I thought you’d be doing the happy dance now that Anderson is back on! Didn’t get a chance to catch it myself so I can’t offer an opinion.. but I do like to check out the podcasts when they become available.

    Yeah that would be cool indeed, John hosting a debate. Anderson has done it. Wolf has done it. Why the heck not John?!?@?

  3. Oh no, there was no happy dance. There was alot of eye rolling at Anderson, becuase of his mediocre performance last nite, and of course the show was not much better. I really think Anderson needs to take notes from John. John knows how to host 360.

    I really would love to see John host a debate. I wish CNN would give him the chance. Because I think he would do a great job!!!

  4. mebz72

    Hi girls. Sorry I haven’t been around the last few days. I was partying it up— actually I had food poisoning, but whatever. I’m better now. Woo Hoo, I love health!
    I’m sorry AC that you didn’t like 360 last night. I didn’t think it was bad, except that I never like the LA set, much. It is just too close. You know?
    JK’s report made me so angry. I will never understand how that man has managed to cover politics for years and hasn’t punched someone. Because I want to hit something after seeing some of the trick and double talk that goes on. Grrr…

  5. Millie

    Mebz, I covered that Giuliani story in the blog today.

  6. Mebz, I am sorry to hear you were sick. I hope you are better now πŸ˜€

    I hate the LA set too. Like you said, it is too close and the damn graphics make me dizzy. They just keep moving and spinning. It’s ridiculous. John must have the patience of a saint becuase if I were him I would have slapped someone too, Mebz…LOL!!!

  7. mebz72

    Much better now, thanks.
    This is exactly why you and I don’t cover politics for CNN, we would turn it into Jerry Springer, lol πŸ™‚

  8. Millie

    “we would turn it into Jerry Springer” – Why does that not exactly surprise me???? LOL!!!!

  9. mebz72

    Oh, if I covered Washington DC, you better believe that someone would get a folding chair upside the head! lol

  10. Millie

    Or too many paternity allegations and suspenseful on-air answers to the question “Who’s your daddy”?

Leave a Reply

