Another Nor’easter, Another Debate…

Friday, 12.14.07

John reported yesterday night live from the set of AC360 in New York. As if the rough Iowa weather wasn’t enough for him! The storm that pounded the midwest has now traveled east…

I watched the news this morning and apparently there are concerns about another Nor’easter forming up and down the east coast… I am watching all of this from the comfort of my Houston home where it is dry as a bone and I am wearing a t-shirt, short pants and flip flops… ah, you gotta love this southern weather.

*Attempts best Scarlett O’Hara accent*

I simply don’t know how I could ever survive up north.

But -ahem- I digress…

Yesterday, the Democratic candidates debated in Iowa. Like the Republican debate earlier this week, it was the last chance for the candidates to present themselves to voters before the ever-important caucus coming up in just a few short weeks.

debate1.jpg

On AC360, Anderson Cooper described the debate as not a “slugfest” but a “lovefest”. Candy Crowley (who’s looking pretty good lately, I might add) said, “You have never seen six such agreeable people”.

Maybe the Democratic candidates – along with the Republicans – have figured out that the backlash from the negative debates in the past has caught up with them and now they want to do something about it! Whatever the reason, thankfully yesterday’s debate was a civilized affair.

John appeared on AC360 last night with his analysis of the debate.

thurs7.jpg

He was back in the New York studio and sitting alongside Joe Klein. David Gergen joined them via video to complete the roundtable.

thurs2.jpg

thurs1.jpg

John said Hillary Clinton used to have advantages over her rivals when it came to the bigger issues, but now as the campaign is going on (and on…), voters are seeing that the differences are really not that big after all.

thurs4.jpg

thurs5.jpg

He says that philosophically, all the Democratic candidates are generally coming from the same mold. However, he says what voters really are looking for is someone new and different. While Hillary may not be new or different, candidates such as Obama and Huckabee are. They are the ones to watch because voters are “tired” and want change.

Personally, I’m not exactly tired yet of the campaign season. (Ask me oh, in half a year or so, and I might answer differently! lol!) Kidding aside, though, now is when things are going to get interesting, when we will be seeing how the candidate field on both sides will be narrowing down in the next few weeks and months…

Isn’t it around then when you can safely say, “They are dropping like flies”?

Ah, it’s Friday and I’m doin’ the TGIF dance! Have a great start to your weekend, everyone!!

thurs3.jpg

 

2 Comments

Filed under Climate and Weather, Election 2008, Election Debates

2 responses to “Another Nor’easter, Another Debate…

  1. I was gald to see John in the studio with Anderson. Any excuse to see two hotties together…LOL!!! Normally I don’t care too much for politics, but there is something about the way John talks about them that makes me pay attention. I could listen to him go on and on about poilitics. He simplyifs them, becuase sometimes politics can be kind of confusing.

  2. Millie

    I agree AC, sometimes politics can be confusing! Ever since starting johnthenewsking, I’ve actually learned new things… lol!

    I still, though, don’t like to express my own political opinions too much, which I call “Millie stepping out of her box” and has happened maybe only 2 or 3 times since I started the blog.

    I can totally understand why, when questioned about his political beliefs, John said he can’t talk about it. I just wish more news anchors and reporters would be like him and not let their biases be so blatent…

Leave a Reply

