Holiday Greetings

Friday, 12.21.07

santajohntwo.jpg

Happy Holidays to everyone! No matter which holiday you are celebrating this year, I hope that you are blessed this season. Not just with the material things, but with the important parts of a rich life: family, friends and good times. Whether those good times include traditional family get-togethers, a suprise gift, caroling, experiencing a baby’s 1st Christmas or a stroll through your neighborhood to view house decorations, I hope that your holiday events and activities are joyous and special!

deco.jpg

I have a few thoughts from some of our readers I would like to share.

From Jeanne K:
I love to cook a large Thanksgiving dinner (and homemade pies, of course!), then afterwards put up the tree and decorate that and the house. This year I’m working Christmas Eve – most of our Public Relations/Marketing staff is off, but I may be able to leave a little early.

Then home to cook dinner and relax until my 15 year old daughter and I attend Midnight Mass at our church (Roman Catholic) – they have a wonderful choir. A half hour before Mass, they play Christmas hymns on the organ (my favorite Christmas music – I also love to hear it played by an orchestra.) – so beautiful and peaceful.
I live in north-central Pennsylvania on the Pennsylvania/New York border – so we always have a nice blanket of snow for Christmas. Christmas Day is another relaxing day (I work a lot of 13 hour days) at home with a home cooked dinner, snacks and movie rentals.
Here at work we celebrate by exchanging small gifts or bringing in baked goods (I do a lot of baking – so that’s what I usually bring. My homemade fudge and no bake cookies are a big hit). Then our Administrative Directors have a department Christmas luncheon catered (this time we had Mediterranean) for us. This year we decided to hold a “white elephant exchange” – it was hilarious!!! The rule was not to buy anything, just bring something that you have around the house that you don’t want. We had quite a few laughs!!
Christmas is my favorite holiday next to Easter. For New Years, I really don’t get into celebrating it too much – I usually end up volunteering to work the day of New Years Eve, then go home, eat dinner, have a glass of white wine and watch the ball drop on tv, then go to bed. This year I really don’t want anything, but have been interested in a coffee maker that a co-worker has (Keurig) – it makes individual cups of the best coffee, tea and hot cocoa!!
I have two favorite Christmas memories. One was when we lived in Saudi Arabia. We weren’t allowed to take a Christmas tree over with us, so I took some brown paper and drew a Christmas tree. We then drew ornaments, colored them, taped them to the tree and put our presents under it. I did miss the snow.
The other favorite memory was when we lived in The Netherlands – the beautiful Christmas decorations, friendly people, food, chocolate, etc. Hope you all have a very Merry Christmas and a great New Year!” – Jeanne
deco.jpg

From Sarah J (aka ACAnderfan)
Merry Christmas everyone!!! I hope everyone has a great holiday. What I like most about Christmas is spending time with family and friends. It’s a time to let people know you love them and appreciate them.

Millie, I would like to say that I really appreciate all you do for this wonderful bog. I hope you have a great holiday. And to Mebz, I love your sense of humor and it’s great that you remember Red 360. Merry Christmas to you.
And to anyone else who reads this blog, I hope you have a nice holiday season and it’s so nice to be around others who like John King as well. And to John King, thanks for being such a GREAT journalist, and I hope you and your kids have a great Christmas!!!
deco.jpg

From Mary B. (aka Mebz)
My list of Christmas favorites:
Favorite Christmas Cookie: Springerle- traditional German cookie that tastes like licorice.
Favorite Christmas Songs: I like “O” songs (get your mind out of the gutter) O Come O Come Emmanuel, O Holy Night and O Little Town of Bethlehem.
Favorite Children’s Christmas Special: Garfield’s Christmas-by far the best!
Favorite Christmas Movie: White Christmas (Danny Kaye!) In fact this is my favorite movie, period.
Favorite Christmas activity: Wrapping presents.
Favorite Tree topper, angel, star or bow: Angel
Snowman or Santa: Snowman
Stars or Snowflakes: Stars
Eggnog or Champagne: Eggnog
Ham or Turkey: Ham
Classy Christmas or Tacky Christmas: TACKY christmas!!

deco.jpg
From Joan (aka Kitten)
And last (but not least) a message from Joan, who does not celebrate Christmas but sends her greetings to us all.
Have a wonderful holiday everyone!!

snowman.jpg
9 Comments

Filed under General Discussion, Holidays

9 responses to “Holiday Greetings

  1. Millie, this was such a great idea. I enjoyed reading everyone’s thoughts. Mebz, I love how you listed all your favorties about Christmas. I have seen parts of White Christmas. My fave Christmas movie is It’s a Wonderful Life.

    Jeanne, you are so lucky to live in an area where you get snow for Christmas. I live just outside of Atlanta, so needless to say we do not get snow here…lol!!! I also like your memory of being in Saudi Arabia. Very creative what you did πŸ˜€

    Kitten, warm wishes for you!!!

    Millie, I love the Santa hat on John…very cute!!!

  2. Millie

    AC, can you believe it, but I had never seen “It’s A Wonderful Christmas” until a few days ago! What a great movie!!

    Joan, I hope you enjoy the few relaxing days off!!

    Jeanne, ah, the Dutch reference really hits a chord with me, as you know. Although my family does not celebrate Sinter Klaas Day, we still nontheless have many Dutch influences around the house (my mother is from The Netherlands). You mentioned chocolate! Verkade chocolate letters have always been a staple for us at Christmas!!

    Mebz, now why does that NOT surprise me that you prefer a “Tacky” Christmas over a classy one? LOL

    John (if you are reading this) happy holidays and best wishes!

    Take Care everyone!

  3. Well Millie, I am gald you finally saw it. It is a great movie. One of my favorites. I still need to watch it πŸ˜€

  4. johnking

    merry christmas to all and to all a good …..(fill in the blank as you see fit)

    i told millie long ago i feel like i’m invading people’s privacy by peeking, but i wanted to take a second to say thank you for caring and wish you all a safe and joyous holiday season. iowa and new hampshire say hello.

  5. mebz72

    Ummm… Wow!
    Thank you so much, John! Not just for the comment but for a year of tremendeous and solid reporting. I hope you and your loved ones have a lovely holiday before 2008 starts.
    Allow me to add my good wishes, although no one is going to read anything after the last comment.
    Merry Christmas to all! And for those who don’t celebrate Christmas, if Bill O’Reilly will allow me (I hear he’s a big fan of JohnthenewsKing) Happy Holidays! Take THAT “War on Christmas.”

    Hey, call me trashy, but it’s just not Christmas without bubble lights and glitter!

  6. Millie

    Thank you for the kind holiday wishes John!!! Stay warm and safe on the campaign trail.. enjoy what remaining time you have until 01.03.07… From there on out, it’s campaign-o-rama at its finest!!

  7. John, thanks so much for your kind holiday wishes. I hope you have a FANTASTC holiday. And like Millie said, stay warm and safe on the campaing trail.

  8. Jeanne

    Hi everyone! Happy Christmas Eve from Pennsylvania! Our snow is melting 😦 We had 50 degree weather/rain yesterday. I’m here working with a couple of other staff members – the rest of my department here in Public Relations/Marketing is off today. I’ll be doing shorter hours (from my usual 13 hour days) – it’s so quiet right now – I should be able to get a lot done today!!! Thanks to everyone for your greetings/wishes! Millie – I forgot about the chocolate letters!!! I used to buy them every year for my kids while we were in Holland. We actually put them in their wooden shoes along with a small gift on Sinterklass Day. You all have a very Merry Christmas and John, too, have a safe and Merry Christmas – hope you’re able to be home with your kids! Jeanne

  9. cstkitten

    Hi everyone! Thanks for the warm wishes. I send them all to you, too. I hope you are enjoying your holiday time and that being with the extended family isn’t (too) stressful πŸ™‚

    I got a cat from the shelter Friday night so I am enjoying her. She’s a Russian blue/grey tiger mix (the only tiger she has is in her tail, it’s so adorable. The rest of her is pure grey.). She’s 8 years old, but is tiny and petite enough to look like a kitten. I don’t think she’s stopped purring since she got here.

    Hello to Iowa and NH, too. Thanks for stopping by and saying hello πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

