More On Benazir Bhutto’s Death

Friday, 12.28.07

(Note: Sorry that I have no visuals for you today, my photo software and uploading systems have been acting goofy today.)

Of course the main news of the day yesterday and much of today has been the Bhutto assassination. I read somewhere that, to the citizens of Pakistan, her death is equally as tragic as the Kennedy assassination was to the United States.

Today, new information has come out that she was not likely killed by a bullet or shrapnel, as first had been reported, but rather from after-effects of the bomb itself going off. Regardless, she lost her life and her country is left in shock and mourning.

Last night AC360 was more of a “hybrid” hosting situation. As Mebz pointed out, it was AC250 & JK110. Lol! John and Anderson took turns leading the program, with Anderson starting out by providing the headlines and John later picking up during the 360 bulletin as well as moderating a guest panel with Richard Haass (Council on Foreign Relations President) and CNN senior political analyst David Gergen.

There have been mixed opinions about having all the Presidential candidates immediately comment upon the situation but I for one am of the opinion that it is a good thing. We need to know how the candidates feel, how they react, what they say and what decisions they will make.

These are the kinds of world events our next President will have to deal with, and to make an informed voting situation in November, we need to know how they will handle the international events effecting on our country and other countries around the world. (*ahem* I’ll reserve commenting on who I personally thought addressed this situation the best and the worst yesterday.)

On to something more light-hearted…

Has everyone made their New Year’s Even plans yet? Guess what?? I have to work! Until midnight!! Whoo-hooo! Happy New Year to me!

What are everyone else’s plans? Feel free to share what you’ll be doing at the stroke of midnight next week on New Year’s Eve…

Thanks for visiting johnthenewsking today and see you soon.

8 Comments

Filed under Current Events, Holidays

8 responses to “More On Benazir Bhutto’s Death

  1. Millie, I agree. I do think it is important to hear how the canidates would respond to this. I mean one of these people is going to be president and they are going to have to deal with situations like this. I think them speaking out shows how they would be in situations that affect the whole world. I am curious to see how things in Pakistan will be now that Ms.Bhutto has been buried.

    I love Mebz calling 360 AC250/JK110…very funny 😆

  2. Katie

    Darn, I had plans last night, so I missed 360. I totally love the 250/110, lol. It IS really important to see how the candidates react to Mrs. Bhutto’s death. I was kind of dissapointed that the candidates used her death to play up their foreign policy experience or in Mike Huckabee’s case, immigration (?), but I guess that it’s still less than a week until Iowa and politicians will be politicians.

    Hmmm, New Years Eve… I will probably be at church helping with the midnight service. It’s a huge thing for Buddhists.

  3. Millie

    “Politicians will be politicians” – LOL Kaie!

  4. mebz72

    OK, am I the only idiot who can’t figure out how to make their emoticon move? What is your magic?

  5. Mebz, type : lol : of course there should be no spcaes and it will come out looking like this 😆

  6. mebz72

    Ok, lets see: 😆

  7. mebz72

    Oooo, I did it!

Leave a Reply

