New Year’s Reflections

Monday, 12.31.07

Happy New Year’s Eve to all!!

Many blogs put together wonderful “year in review” posts… but alas, what does one write about at the end of the year when one has only six month’s worth of material to review and several “best of” (aka top ten) posts have already been written in the past?  Well, today I decided instead to just sit back, relax, and conjure up some reflections on what this experience has been like, then sum up with a few ideas for how I would like to see johnthenewsking grow.

5aba.jpg

First of all, wow, today is my last post of the year. Hard to believe! It is also hard for me to believe that johnthenewsking has been around already for half a year! It does not seem too long ago that other John King fans and I were mulling this idea around last summer, back when we weren’t even sure that this project would even kick off the ground or be successful.

1e25.jpg

After all, something like this for JK had never been done before, so what would the main theme of the blog be about? How to even start? And would people even find us? As for the last question, I think it is safe to say we are still an obscure little blog. In a way, I like that. Kinda cozy. No spammers, no trollers… just our regular fantastic friends who come around and want to find out information and news about John King.

de15.jpg

As far as a “theme” is concerned, well, I have found out over the last few months that there really is no main theme… the posts and topics have just turned out to be an eclectic mix of news, guest-hosting reviews, funny odds and ends, video slideshows, occasional off the beaten path tidbits and a few surprises thrown in-between. Although, judging by my categories counter to the right, the obvious topic that has been blogged about the most is Election 2008. Umm… no surprise there!!!

fa08.jpg

Truth be said, there were days over the last six months when I would be scratching my head over what to blog about, but amazingly whenever I thought there wasn’t a shred of new material to write about, someone would suddenly share an idea, a relevant news story would surface, or some surprises would come around the corner and rescue the day.

4f4d.jpg

I’ve mentioned before that I feel blogging is often a hit and miss situation. There were many days in 2007 that I was very very proud of my blogging skills, yet other days, well… well I just have to plead innocent due to being a novice at this. Yes, I am a novice and I am not afraid to admit that. However I like to think I am getting better as the days and months go by!! I have never owned or moderated a blog before,  so I had to learn the ropes from scratch and I also had to learn some things the hard way! Thankfully, people like Phebe over at ATA have been helpful in pointing out some of the do’s and don’ts of the blogging world. I’m in good company.

london10.jpg

Someday I’d like to see johnthenewsking expand with regular contributors taking turns writing posts, in a format similar to what ATA and ATC currently use. However, I am of course aware that the kind of growth and progress I am talking about takes time. At the moment the interest for multiple contributors is, admittedly, low… but perhaps that might change. Joan wrote a fantastic guest post in October. The talent is definitely there.

c6691.jpg

I am very open to ideas and suggestions for making johnthenewsking grow and expand. I mention at my suggestions page that “It takes a village” to make a great John King blog!! Feel free to provide me with feedback and suggestions… it is always appreciated.  

d67e.jpg

As 2007 comes to a close and 2008 looms ahead it is no surprise that additional election coverage will be brewing around here.  But have no fear, I will still continue to look out for things to blog about that might be slightly different or unusual. I’m kinda quirky myself like that, and I can only blog about the election for so much!! lol!

july19b.jpg

In closing, I’d love to hear about our readers’ New Year’s thoughts… please feel free to add your end-of-year sentiments to today’s comments section.

See you in 2008!!

Best New Year’s wishes to all,

Millie

7 Comments

Filed under General Discussion, Holidays

7 responses to “New Year’s Reflections

  1. WOW Millie, I can’t believe you’ve had this blog for 6 months already. Seems longer. I think you have done a FANTASTIC job with it. I love that us John fans have a place to come and hang out 😀

    You say you would like Johnthenewsking to have contributors one day…I think that is a GREAT idea. I wouldn’t mind every so often doing a write up of when John hosts 360. I mean I do read this blog everyday, it’s only right I try to give something back to it 😀

    I would like to wish everyone who reads this blog a happy new year.

    And to John I wish him health and happiness in the new year 😀

  2. Millie

    Thanks AC again for being so kind and sweet. I’ve always been able to count on you, rain or shine, to provide me with comments and feedback. This blog would not be a success without regular readers like you!

  3. mebz72

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!
    Man, has it been 6 months already? I too, remember the the first days of the new and improved JK Yahoo group. To think that only 7 months ago, we were all lost in a lonely sea of NO JK blog. What sad, dark days those were.
    But no longer!

  4. Aww…Millie that was sweet of you to say to me 😀 Keep up the GREAT work Millie!!!

  5. Katie

    Millie, I loved the pictures in this post! Some of the expressions on John’s face were priceless!

    Six months? Wow, what an accomplishment. 😀 I think that it’s a really cool idea to have multiple contributors and I would be more than happy to help with anything you need for the blog!

    I feel like a total moron asking this, but how exactly do you make screencaps? Do you pause the tv and take a picture or somehow make the screen appear to your computer?… I know how to make them from a dvd, but the live tv part of it still eludes me.

  6. Millie

    Hi Katie, thanks for your kind comments. I don’t make screencaps from live TV… I am not that tech savvy yet.

    The ones I usually use for the blog are provided by Kitten (Joan), she is the screencap guru around here. From what I understand she records a program to her dvr/tivo and from there she can pause the picture creating a “snapshot”, then she saves it to a disk via her recordable DVD player, then transfers the disk file to her computer. On a live program you can also pause a dvr/tivo and save the image, if I am not mistaken.

    That’s how it is done, in a nutshell. I think in reality it might be a bit more complicated than that, though.

    E-mail me at milliepip@yahoo.com so we can discuss what interests you might have in helping with the blog.

    Thanks and happy new year!!!

  7. Katie

    It get MORE complicated than that? :O Technology wise, Kitten, I bow down to you…

Leave a Reply

