JKDSA And POTUS SOTUA

Monday, January 28, 2008   Posted By: Millie

Later on down this post I’ll have some info about tonight’s POTUS SOTUA, but in the meantime, I thought I’d share a little Johnjoy from 6 years ago. Thanks to Mebz’s persistence, we have uncovered John’s other Daily Show appearance. Her little find nicely coincides with tonight’s address! (John was speaking with Stewart the night of the SOTUA in January of 2002.)

Here are a few videocaps of JKDSA (John King Daily Show Appearance):

wh1.jpg

wh2.jpg

wh3.jpg

wh4.jpg

wh5.jpg

Did anyone catch John’s mention of Bush having an 85% approval rating in the polls??? My oh my how times change!

Here’s what he told us last August about this particular appearance on the Daily Show: “I once did the Daily Show from the White House lawn. If you watch at all you know John Stewart fakes it – their ‘reporters’ stand in front of fake backdrops. Well he saw the real deal behind me and we had a good laugh about it. Again, I was a little nervous and so probably not as funny as it should have been.”

Aww… well, if he was nervous, it sure didn’t show. I thought he did a terrific job! I just wish he had made more appearances like this in the past. It would be great to have stuff “from the vault” to pull up from time to time and post here at the blog, lol!

Here’s an old transcript I dug up regarding the 2002 SOTUA. John was reporting from Maryland Heights, Missouri.

Back to tonight’s speech…

pres.jpg

A friend of mine noted how patriotic it was that Bush and Cheney were sporting Red and Blue ties! Hmm… patriotic indeed.

Here is CNN’s link to a transcript of the speech.

John was on AC360 for some post-debate commentary. As part of the “Raw Politics” roundtable, he began by stating that that the differences between Bush’s first SOTU and tonight’s speech are “night and day”. Bush came into the Presidency as a compassionate conservative then back then in 2001 and was very domestic-focused.

John pointed out that 9/11 “changed everything”. International policy as a constant shadow over his Presidency is now forever etched in history. Anderson asked for analysis of points Bush emphasized throughout the speech when it comes to Iraq: urging patience and stating that more time is needed to achieve goals.

John called these comments throughout the speech a direct blow to Democrats, because Bush and the Republicans are in a much better position now than a year ago when it comes to touting progress in Iraq. Even though the progress may not be on the larger scale many Democrats would like, there has been some improvement nonetheless. John noted that we will have to see how this plays out as the campaign rolls on.

It should be interesting to finally find out in November who will be making SOTU speeches over the next four years…

I apologize for the lack of screengrabs for tonight’s speech analysis, but I do have this one to share in closing:

jk.jpg

Hmm… maybe we should do a caption contest for this one? What is John rolling his eyes at and why is Stewart looking so perturbed??

26 Comments

Filed under From The Archives, Just For Fun, Presidential News

26 responses to “JKDSA And POTUS SOTUA

  1. mebz72

    I’m still waiting for flowers and jewelry to be coming my way.
    I’ll be around during the SOTU, anybody want to party?
    My drinking game suggestions: Any time Bush says Iraq, Iran, Afghanistan, congress, or the Democrats- take one drink.
    Axis of Evil, Osama bin Laden or Al Qaeda- two drinks.
    “Life has never been the same since John King left the White House”-get hammered!

  2. Millie

    What? You didn’t get my Fedex Package filled with diamond earrings and ruby rings? Didn’t Johnthedeliveryboy show up in Fedex short-shorts like I had expressly requested? That’s the last time I’ll ever pay their hefty surcharge on special orders!@%!!

    What about the flowers I had delivered to you from 1-900-Flowers.com? I think I got ripped off! Hmmm, now that I think about it, that 1-900 prefix sounds kinda suspect, don’t ya think? Maybe that might have something to do with it??

  3. mebz72

    No I didn’t get any of that, but it does explain the box from 1-900-AdultToys.com I found outside my door!

  4. Millie

    *Millie blushes*

    Now listen here, missy… don’t try to use my good-naturedness as a convenient cover for your shananigans!!! I take no responsibility whatsoever for any “other” boxes that show up at your doorstep…

  5. mebz72

    Well, I certainly didn’t order it! Hmm, maybe AC or Katie sent it.
    I’m waiting for the little man to yell “The President of the United States!”

  6. Millie

    I think the little man is about to make his statement.

  7. acanderfan

    I think when Bush walks out they should play the Howdy Doody theme song.

  8. Millie

    The little man hath spoken!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Wolfie is now speaking to John…

  9. mebz72

    I could seriously stop watching at this point. I really just wanted to see the little man.

  10. Millie

    What? You wanna stop now? What about your drinking game? Are you going to do that on the replay?

  11. mebz72

    Harry Reid looks like he’s about the throw-up. I’m afraid that if we really played that game I might go into liver failure.

  12. mebz72

    If I were really playing my drinking game, I would have passed out after those last few minutes. Wew…

  13. mebz72

    Nancy Pelosi is thinking about sneaking out for a cigarette and Dick Cheney is (obviously) thinking about killing baby rabbits.

  14. Millie

    Mebz, nothing is wrong with wordpress. It is just me experimenting.

    You know, I started listening to the speech via my computer audio, but since I am multi-tasking at the moment, after a while I have started to tune it out…

    Hey it is over.

  15. mebz72

    It’s over?! That’s it? Heck, I could have done that!

  16. Millie

    My attention has been restored. John is providing analysis.

  17. mebz72

    Unfortunately, the images on screen don’t match the audio. Still Bush signing autographs. I don’t understand that, it’s not like he’s Bono.

  18. Millie

    Ohh, Wolfie is now turning over the audio so we can “evesdrop” on Bush!

  19. mebz72

    Maryland Heights, MO! That’s only 40 miles from me. If only it were six years ago.

  20. mebz72

    Open Letter to Anderson Cooper:

    Listen, Andy, I love you and your show! However, the lighting, make-up, and proximity of camera while you are in the L.A. set should really be altered. I mean, is the camera sitting ON your lap? You are quite attractive, this can not be denied. Just take a step back. Thank You.

    Sincerely,
    Mebz

  21. Millie

    I was updating the post with changes/corrections as I was going along, and now everything should be correct. Including the ending picture.

  22. acanderfan

    Open Letter to Anderson Cooper:

    Andy pay no attention to Mebz. I love seeing you up close like that. It alows us Anderfans to be able to gaze into your beautiful blue eyes. Sure the makeup may not be perfect and neither is the lighiting, but you still look HOTT. So keep that camera in your lap!!!

    Sincerely,
    ACAnderFan

  23. vai toma no cú seu filho da puta

  24. Pingback: powerd by webcorporators.org » joshishiny.com » asdgfadsgsadgjkashdgfsajkdfkjahsdfjksafjkhdksajhdfh

Leave a Reply

