And Then There Were Two

Thursday, January 31, 2008   Posted By: Joan

Tonight is the CNN Democratic debate – Clinton vs. Obama. I certainly hope it doesn’t become the slugfest that the last debate was! That only demeans the party and the two candidates. Although I can’t say I’ll be watching too much of the debate – don’t you think we already know what our respective candidate stands for by now? At least Super Tuesday’s almost here.

Wolf was live from the Kodak Theatre in Los Angeles where the debate will be held. I wonder how many celebs will be there? As for John King, he was on TSR briefly discussing Ahnold’s, oops I mean, Governor Schwarzenegger’s decision to support John McCain now that Rudy Giuliani is out of the running. Arnold told John during an earlier interview that he wouldn’t support either candidate because they were both good friends. But now with Rudy out, it was an easy decision for him to lend his name to McCain. I don’t know how you feel, and I’d be glad to hear from you about this, but having a celebrity or a politician supporting a candidate doesn’t do bupkiss for me. I like Oprah, but that doesn’t mean I’ve jumped on the Obama bandwagon just because she’s lending him her considerable name. The same with The Terminator and McCain. In fact, my favorite male movie star is George Clooney and he’s thrown his hat into the Obama ring. I’m sad to say that’s the only thing that I’ve read that he’s said in interviews or watched him say in interviews (regarding politics) that I completely disagree with him on! (But he can’t be PERFECT, right?!) 🙂

george_clooney_02.jpg

george_clooney_03.jpg

Will you be watching the debate tonight? I’m personally going to nab a glass of wine and soak in a hot bath until LOST comes on.

Here’s some caps of John and the gang:

john-king-56.jpg

jkontsrinsc_windblown-2.jpg

219o.jpg

ac360_72607b.jpg

jk31807_kuwait3.jpg

jk-interviewing-ahnold-4.jpg

7907c.jpg

peters-freckles.jpg
10 Comments

Filed under Election 2008, Election Debates, Political Interviews

10 responses to “And Then There Were Two

  1. Millie

    Hi Joan, thanks for a great post with GREAT caps!!!! The chopper picture is one of my favorite older pics of John.

    Personally, I think celeb endorsements aren’t necessarily a bad thing, if the endorser is someone you trust and admire. Which is exactly how I feel about Oprah. Is that the ONLY reason I might vote for Obama? Certainly not. But I think Oprah definitely has her head and heart in the right place…so for me, her endorsement can only be seen as a plus.

  2. mebz72

    Joan, I love you, and you know why!
    I don’t know, I think George Clooney might be just be perfect.

  3. acanderfan

    Maybe George Clooney should run for president…LOL!!! Those screencaps are nice 😀

    I am surprised that the debate tonight has been so civil. I think it has been more civil than the republican one last nite.

  4. Millie

    I agree, AC, the debate was a lot more civil. I guess because now it is just the two of them, it has less of a circus-feel.

  5. cstkitten

    I know you like that chopper pix, Millie 🙂 I put it in there just for YOU. A little teeny part of me thinks Oprah is all for Obama b/c he’d be the first black prez. I know a lot of people would want to smack me around for saying that, but I can’t help feeling that way sometimes.

    Mary – yes I know why. That cracked me up!!

    Wouldn’t it be great if George ran? And Jon Stewart was the Veep. I’d want to stay in the US forever – or at least another four years. Right now I’m ready to join Jodi in Canada.

    I’m glad the debate was more civilized. I’ll have to catch the highlights tomorrow on CNN.

  6. mebz72

    Hey Jodi, if we all moved to Canada, can you stay with you?

  7. mebz72

    Stephen Colbert= Secretary of State

  8. cstkitten

    lol! Stephen’s a hoot.

  9. Millie

    Let me tell you, my admiration for Jon Stewart just went THROUGH THE ROOF after I saw an interview posted over at ATA where he was interviewing Bill Bennett and he nailed BB fair and square on the issue of gay marriage. Hallelujah! Jon Stewart is incredibly funny but he is also an incredibly smart, too.

  10. Anonymous

    Yeah, Millie – that’s the attraction for Jon. He’s a smart guy with a great sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

