The Day After

Friday, 2.15.08 Posted by: Mebz

Update: 5:00pm Got an answer to who is going to moderate the next CNN debate. And it looks as if John is 1st runner-up. Click here for TVNewser’s announcement.

Good Friday to you all! I hope you made it through another Valentine’s Day unscathed. I have a problem with Valentine’s, not on principle- Share the love is my motto, but on mascots. Call me crazy, I just don’t think it’s a good idea to be arming babies.

cupid.jpg

Trust me on this, I work with children and I don’t even trust them with scissors, let alone bows and arrows!

I’ve got to ask: Is this primary almost over, yet? Is it just me or has this been the longest primary in history. Although, even if it hasn’t given us two candidates yet, it has given us the “Magic Wall.” For which, I am grateful.

picture1.jpg
picture2.jpg
picture3.jpg

Wednesday night on 360, Anderson Cooper and Erica Hill were talking about who should moderate the upcoming CNN Democratic debate in Texas next week. CNN, may I offer a suggestion:

183c.jpg

Earlier, you may have noticed Millie was strutting around because Hillary Clinton was giving a speech at her Alma Matter. Sure, CNN was there and all. But I think I can top it. Tuesday evening was the Westminster Dog Show, and as I’m sure most of you are aware, Uno the Beagle was crowned Best in Show.

art_beagle_wins_ap.jpg

Now this is exciting for me, not just because I’m a fan of the beagle, but because Uno just happens to be from Columbia, Missouri. Home of the University of Missouri a.k.a. Mizzou-my Alma Mater!

1713682849_83ed9d44ce.jpg
Go Tigers!

So I ask you, Hillary or Uno? Who is cooler?

Mebz’s Weekly No-Good Irrelevant YouTube Video

Why? Because disco, and people making fools of themselves, knows no language. (Stick with it at least until 2:04, your patience will be rewarded.)

Somewhere, in another country, I like to think there is a retirement home for aging disco instructors, wearing polyester, gold chains and humming Abba.

Leading to our Weekend Discussion Question: What is the most embarrassing fad that you ever followed? I’ll start: I used to crimp my hair, wear 6 different fluorescent socks at one time and LOVED The New Kids on the Block. Don’t judge me, it was the 80’s! Discuss!

10 Comments

Filed under Election 2008, Election Debates, Entertainment, General Discussion, Just For Fun

10 responses to “The Day After

  1. acanderfan

    This primary is going on way too long. But like Mebz I too am grateful for the Magic Wall. It makes watching primary coverage more intersting. Next year when election season is over John might go through withdrawal from the Magic Wall…LOL 🙂

    I think John would be an excellent choice to moderate the upcoming democrat debate. CNN needs to give Wolf Blitzer a break…let someone else moderate…lol!!!

  2. Millie

    If the Miners and the Tigers were to have matchup, the Miners would whip your butts!!! LOL

    Thanks for the nice videocaps of John! Something pleasant to look at this Friday morning.

    As for me, I was totally an 80’s child. My bedroom was plastered with posters of Kirk Cameron! I am guilty of the big hair look too, hahaha. As far as fashion, though, I guess I was pretty conservative. I never really dressed up like Madonna. I was always a jeans and t-shirt kinda gal. But I am guilty of wearing jelly shoes!!! I still remember the maroon pair that was too tight and always left red marks of a pattern all over my feet after I took them off.

  3. Millie

    p.s. Mebz I think your suggestion for the Austin debate host is fabulous!!!!

  4. mebz72

    I had jellys! Mine were clear with sparkles. They were the only shoes I wore in the summer, when I would actually wear shoes, I grew up in the country, I was bare-foot most of the time. As for jeans, I will cop to participating in the tight rolled, acid washed madness.

  5. Millie

    I wonder what John’s fashion style was in the 80’s? I bet he walked around like Crockett or Tubbs.

  6. Millie

    Thanks Mebz for the link about the debate!

  7. mebz72

    You’re welcome, Mille, can you fix it so the link isn’t so ugly. How do you embed the link within text? I tried and couldn’t get it to work.

  8. Millie

    Done.

    You’ve got to hightlight the text where you want the link to appear, then click the link icon on the editing toolbar. Copy and paste the link address into the popup box, and save.

    That should do the trick. E-mail me if you have any questions.

  9. mebz72

    That’s what I tried, but I guess I didn’t do it right. Thanks for fixing it.

  10. acanderfan

    Well I am gald John will play such an important part in this debate. It’s about time someone other than Anderson or Wolf Blitzer moderate.

Leave a Reply

