His Little Special Niche

Wednesday, 02.20.08 Posted by:Katie

Aloha Kakahiaka na haumana o johnthenewsking! Good Morning, everyone.

The caucuses last night were crazy, awesome, and inspiring all at the same time. My mom got there at around five thirty to register as Democrat and they were already running out of registration forms. So they waited and waited to vote, but their precinct and the neighboring precincts had run out of ballots. The precinct captains TORE UP PIECES OF A YELLOW LEGAL PAD and they wrote the name of the candidate on it. Go figure. The average Hawaii caucus was about 4,000 voters, but this year with about 50% percent of precincts reporting there are about 15,000 votes.

So, Suzanne Malveaux has been on Oahu reporting. I think she is an amazing, competent reporter, but I can’t stand her shirt.

cnn-hawaii.jpg

There are so many companies and stores (like Manuhealii) that make beautiful dresses and tops. Places like Hilo Hattie and the ABC Store are closer to Waikiki, but driving a little to that store is totally worth it. Ok, that was Part One of my rant.

Part Two: John called Hawaii the remote islands and geographically, we are. These are a few things that I have to clear up about the Aloha State. And yes, I have actually been asked about each one.

-Yes, we have electricity

-Yes, we have internet access

-No, we don’t have thatched roofs. We’ve got shingles and everything.

-I don’t surf to other islands. Actually, I don’t surf at all.

-I actually perfer jeans to hula skirts.

Ok, now the part that you’ve all been waiting for.. I just googled John King + CNN

John King- Master Manipulator

“My son jokes with me… that he actually likes what I do now,” King said. “But I’m a little worried about it, because the cab driver who brought me here today said, ‘I love that map board.’ It’s obviously connecting with people in a way beyond what I would’ve thought.

This is kind of a negative CNN article, but look at this quote.

The diamond in this rough is John King, CNN’s chief national correspondent, whose cool parsing of voting patterns is superb.

Ok, John and the Wall were on tonight from the beginning of the Election Center to Larry King Live. It was more of the same, which is as always, amazing. My iTunes is acting up, so no caps, sorry! However I found pics from the 2005 and 2006 NBA Tech Summits.

nba-2006.jpg

nba-2005.jpg

Happy Wednesday!

3 Comments

Filed under Election 2008, General Discussion, Just For Fun

3 responses to “His Little Special Niche

  1. acanderfan

    Katie, if this is a dumb question forgive me, but do they have thier own language in Hawaii (I know they do speak english)???

    Seeing John play with the magic wall makes election coverage more bearable. Really thought last nite, I hardly watched any of it. To me every tuesday is like that movie “Groundhog Day”. The same thing happens every tuesday…LOL!!!

    Great pics of John from the 2005, 2006 NBA Tech Summit 😀

  2. Millie

    Hi Katie, thanks for your cute post. That is funny about what some people have asked you about Hawaii. When I moved to the gulf coast area in 2002, I used to get some strange questions about West Texas and El Paso…. such as if our roads are actually paved and do we wear boots all the time and ride horses!!!! hahahaha

    I have never been to Hawaii but that is definitely a state on my “Bucket List” lol

    Thanks for those links to the articles that mention JK. You are right, it is rather a negative CNN article, but CNN is only caught in the middle of reporting the most streched-out primary season ever.. Primaries started earlier on the calendar and they are still not over! In other election years, things would already have been “sewn up” by now, so to speak.

    Yes, it is getting repetitive to watch the results every week, but CNN can’t be blamed for that, it’s the fact that the Dem side is neck and neck, while on the GOP side you have underdogs who simply haven’t thrown in the towel yet. (Did you know here in Texas, Ron Paul is STILL airing commercials to date?)

    Any other year such an article would not have been written about CNN. This year is just so unprecendent, and while there may be a little of the “groundhog effect” going on, I think it’s great that our country is going through this process. Democracy in action!!!

    p.s. Cute title for your post!
    p.s.s. How do you pronounce the opening line of this post?

  3. Millie

    ACAnderfan, I just read at ATA that it is your birthday. HAPPY BIRTHDAY AC!!!!!

Leave a Reply

