And now… subbing For Mr. King, It’s Mr. King!

Wednesday 03.12.08 Posted By: Millie

Good afternoon all. I thought I’d start out this post with the following bit of nostalgia. Remember this toy?

lite-brite.jpg

I had one of these back when I was about 7 or so, and gosh-darnit, I still remember that very rooster on the packaging on the box! I loved my light-brite. It was a pain in the rear and very tedious to get all the colored pegs exactly where you wanted them, but the end results were spectacular, though.

By golly, I even remember this commercial!!!

Anywho, I think that this toy is what probably inspired the background set for Larry King Live. Com’on, am I the only one who might have thought this????

The last two evenings, John has subbed for Larry on LKL. Usually we are accustomed to seeing him (John) sub for Wolf or Anderson, but having him on LKL was a nice change of pace. He did a smooth job of filling in on Larry’s seat, sans the suspenders!!!

Here are a few screengrabs:

lkl.jpg

lkl2.jpg

lkl3.jpg

lkl4.jpg

For once it was interesting to hear John report on something OTHER than the election. Even though that OTHER thing in the news at the moment is a pretty big shocker.

Normally, news such as the Spitzer scandal wouldn’t be something that I would care to know much about. After all, he is not the first governor/senator/elected official to be caught in some kind of sordid sex scandal, nor will he be the last. And while I think it is absolutely horrible what he has put his family through, I still think that private matters are just that – private – and should be none of our business…

HOWEVER…

What really is upsetting about what Spitzer has done, rather, is the cold and calculated way he went about doing this. I mean, come on!!! It’s one thing to have some indiscretions, but the fact that he had to go through all these lengths to carefully orchestrate his plans is disgusting. His “affairs” were not just casual flings… they were cold-hearted, manipulated, well thought-out plans. He knew exactly what he wanted and he knew exactly how to do it.

Yuck.

And probably just like most Americans, we can forgive our elected officials for their personal indiscretions, but the blatant HYPOCRISY is what we have a harder time in understanding or sympathizing with.

I feel badly for his wife, I really do. She is a very beautiful woman and without a doubt she is going through a horrible personal pain. It is disheartening to see her standing by his side as he is announcing his resignation today. I hope she has the courage and strength to get through this with grace and do what is best for her and her family.

Well, that’s all for me folks. For the mid-day hump-day perk-me-up, here is a funny video. WordPress has limitations on video embedding, so you will have to click here to watch the video.  Enjoy!

ghost.jpg

7 Comments

Filed under Current Events, Entertainment, Guest Hosting

7 responses to “And now… subbing For Mr. King, It’s Mr. King!

  1. mebz72

    Millie, I will have you know that at this very moment I have my Lite Brite sitting on my coffee table. I love this toy.
    Thanks for the caps, since I apparently can’t stay up to save my life.

  2. Millie

    Isn’t it the greatest? Do they still make them though? I remember that I would get frustrated because I kept losing all the pegs and sometimes I couldn’t make a completely picture.

    I also just found an old lite-brite commercial on YouTube and posted above it to the blog. LOL!

  3. mebz72

    Yeah you can still find them. My sister bought one for my niece.
    I used to drop the pegs down my grandma’s floor vents and she would get upset. But I couldn’t help myself! It made such a satisfying “Plink Plink”

  4. acanderfan

    I remeber Lite Brite. It was my favorite toy when I was little. I think maybe the LKL set was inspired by Lite Brite…LOL!!!

    I missed John on LKL. As much as I love John I was just too tired to stay up last nite and watch him. I am sure he did an amazing job though.

    The Spitzer scandal is a mess. His poor family. That is who I feel for. He is putting his family though so much. I hope his wife has some people she can lean on during this tough time.

  5. Millie

    I was just watching AC360 and the WWTT segment was about two news vans that were dragracing in El Paso! Anderson quipped, “Stay Classy El Paso” He muttered it again under his breath at the end of the segment.

  6. acanderfan

    The WWTT was great. As muttering that udner his breath made me giggle, sorry Millie. Stay Classy Millie 😆

  7. Millie

    Yeah it is kinda funny I guess, but still… WWTT????

    If you watch the whole You Tube video you hear all the crowd laughing and egging them on. My brother used to work for KVIA, one of the stations involved in the drag race.

Leave a Reply

