John In Iraq

Monday, 03.17.08 Posted By Millie

Happy St. Patrick’s Day Everyone!

Mebz, because you like kitties so much, this is for you:

15390-sp_lrg.jpg

John has spent the weekend in Iraq.

iraq.jpg

He was covering McCain’s visit, as well as the visits of his companions and fellow allies, Joe Lieberman and Lindsey Graham. And oh yeah, Dick Cheney is there too.

Update: John is still reporting live from Iraq tonight, he is speaking with Campbell Brown on CNN’s “Election Center” program.

Update #2:  John  is also reporting from the middle east live for AC360 tonight with Soledad O’Brien.

John did an interview piece with McCain which you can view from the political ticker right here. For a full story of John’s reporting in Iraq, click here.

Since I have some rather sharp opinions about this visit, and since I don’t want to step on a political soapbox at this time, I think I am going to reserve comment today about McCain and the Iraq war.

Instead, here are some videocaps of John in Baghdad:

iraq4.jpg

If anyone wants to stop by my pad later tonight, I’ll be servin’ up some green ale!!!

images.jpg

13 Comments

Filed under Current Events, Iraq War, Political Interviews

13 responses to “John In Iraq

  1. mebz72

    Thanks for the IrishKitty!
    I can not tell you how much I appreciate you not stepping on the political soapbox. Even though I think that you and I share a lot of the same views, it seems as if that is all we get on the air and on other sites/blogs, not to mention that’s all I hear all weekend from my friends and family. NO OFFENCE TO ANYONE: but sometimes I even think ATA has too much opinion on it. Sometimes the only view that needs to be stated is that JOHN KING is a terrific reporter, leave it at that. Bless you, Millie! Thanks too for the caps, the first one in a tie is tremendous!
    I don’t think I want any green ale, but mind if I stop by with some Guinness and Flogging Molly CD’s?

  2. Millie

    Yup, Mebz, I agree with you… you said it better than I could. I try and not post any of my political beliefs at this blog… I just want it to be a fun place where we can discuss John, and not so much get all hung up over the issues.

    Sure, bring on the Guinness and the Flogging Molly!

    But we will have to be careful when AC shows up. Give her too much to drink and who KNOWS what she and cardboard anderson will be up to. Although, I think he’s pretty tattered, torn and food-stained by now that he is probably hardly recognizable anymore.

    *millie starts pouring the green ale*

  3. mebz72

    HOLY CRAP! Soledad just said “John King, Michael Ware and Peter Bergen” That’s the trifecta! Mebz is happy. (The Guinness is helping.)

  4. Millie

    WOW, I just heard that too. Cool beans.

    I think AC is AWOL with cardboard anderson…. or maybe AWOL with the real anderson… after all, he’s not on tonight… hmmmm….

  5. mebz72

    Are you kidding me? I’m going to have to sit through Lou Dobbs before JK, MW or PB?? Grrr.

  6. mebz72

    Okay, I will say that Lou knows his stuff when it comes to economic issues.

  7. Millie

    Yeah I guess he does know his “stuff” when it comes to economics, but I just can’t get past the fact that when he is on camera, he often comes off as angry and over-opinionated.

    I hate it when he cusses on live TV (ie hell, or damn or whatever) That is so unprofessional, that has just turned me off. He just seems so ANGRY all the time at the government (dems and repubs alike) and all he does is criticize, criticize, criticize, without really offering any solutions except (and I am paraphrasing here) “off with their heads!!”

    The ONLY thing I applaud him for is his stance on the border patrol case of Campeon and Ramos, two border patrol agents who were sent to prison for almost a dozen years for shooting a drug smuggler.

  8. Millie

    Hmm… I still wonder what is up with AC and why she hasn’t stopped by… I’m sure she’ll have an “alibi” but I wouldn’t be surprised if she was with cardboard anderson all night!’!!!

  9. mebz72

    I’m sure she’s crying into her cardboard anderson since the real deal is off tonight. I hope she isn’t drunk in a gutter somewhere.

    I haven’t seen Katie ’round these parts much lately. You out there Katie?

    Yeah, I felt that I had to give Lou some sort of props since he was very civil. Most of the time he looks like he just kicked a puppy. That, and he has flesh-colored hair. How?

    Ok, I got to see Peter, Michael and John. JK’s piece was great (duh) But MORE time should have been given to the round table. I mean, Bergen only got ONE question. My suggestion: Kick out Gloria and give a good half hour to the 2 in Baghdad and Peter. Why won’t you listen to me CNN?

  10. acanderfan

    I am here finally!!! No Mebz, I was not crying with cardbaord Anderson…LOL!!!

    Mebz, Millie, I was with Anderson last nite (and not the cardbaord one either). You knew there had to be a reason he wasn’t on. We went back to has apartment had some green colored drink and the next thing I knew I was waking up in his bed.

    I was dissapointed last nite when I saw that Anderson wasn’t on. However I think he may be on his way to Iraq so maybe that is why he wasn’t on.

  11. acanderfan

    Millie, I like that you stay off a soapbox here. As for Lou Dobbs being on the program last nite. I didn’t pay attention to what he said. I don’t like Lou.

    I liked seeing John on 360. I wish he had been part of the discussion instead of Gloria Borger. She’s annoying.

  12. mebz72

    Ditto to Gloria Borger being annoying. I would have liked to see John been apart of the discussion as well. Not only would he have add a well informed insight, but it also would have meant that I could have gotten a screen cap of Michael, Peter, and John side by side.

    (BTW, keep dreaming AC, like Anderson would really drink green-colored alcohol. He’s far too refined for that.)

  13. acanderfan

    I owuld love to see John, Michael and Peter on 360 talking about the war. Now that would be an interesting discssion.

    As for Anderson drinking green colored alcohol, you never know. He may not be as refined as we think…LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

