What up, Peeps?

Friday, 03.21.08 Posted by: Mebz

Greetings from a flooded Missouri. (Send Boat!)  Happy Good Friday and early Easter to everyone!

Hangin’ with my Peeps

Usually, I’m a purest.  Particularly with my Peeps, the yellow have been good enough for years.  But I recently had the new green variety, and I must say they are tasty.  Anyone else have opinions on the expanding color palette of Peeps?  Good? Horribly wrong?  Or am I the only one who cares about these things?

Okay, moving on… Millie put the pressure on me to do a good job today and then proceeded to steal the subject I was going to cover i.e. John in Jerusalem.  So I went hunting through the archives and found a few things to share with you today.

I found CNN’s Election Night Blog from 2004 and it’s amazing how primitive it looks compared to today’s CNN blogs.  John has a few posts on it, however the one I really wanted to share with you is from Karl Penhaul (IMO, one of CNN’s best, yet under-utilized reporters.)  In light of the 5th anniversary of the Iraq war you have to ask yourself, besides the names, how much has changed?

From Karl Penhaul, Video Correspondent for CNN, reporting near Fallujah, Iraq
“One Marine, just about old enough to vote for the first time, shook his head and said to me: “Out here this is politics of the rawest kind.” He was a grunt, not an officer.
He didn’t mean Republican-Democratic party politics or even Bush-Kerry personality politics. Clausewitz (“war is an extension of politics”) or Chairman Mao (“political power grows out of the barrel of a gun”) have written about the kind of politics this Marine was talking about. He didn’t know those names maybe; he certainly hadn’t read the textbook theory. He just sensed it, a world away from the fancy gloss-wrapped, shrink-wrapped vacuum-packed TV debates, party spin doctors and expert opinion polls.
This marine, when he’s ordered, will simply go out and do politics of the rawest kind … kicking in doors, blasting away with an M-16 assault rifle.
The outcome on the extreme edge of his political frontline isn’t about Bush or Kerry. There’s no vote and no recount, just life or death.”
shockawe.jpg 

If you didn’t see AC360’s Shock and Awe special last night, you missed a very fine hour of television.

 

potomac-1.png

Moving on.  John tidbits:

Ever wondered what a Canadian thinks of our Election coverage? National Post‘s Jian Ghomeshi likes John’s electronic thingy:  “Whiz-kid King stands at a massive computer map — stretching and seducing it, taming and testing it..”  Thanks for taking me down THAT road, Jian.

And from the JOPLIN GLOBE (Joplin, Mo.- Which is on the OTHER side of the state from me.)  By Mike Pound: “That Wolf guy and some guy with good hair named John King stood in front of a large computer screen and talked. While they talked, John King played with a map of the United States on the large computer screen. I’m not sure exactly what John was doing with map on the large computer screen but apparently it had something to do with the election. Wolf, though, was so impressed with what John was doing with the map on the large computer screen that he told the viewers that they could go to the CNN Web site and be “just like John King for the night.”

I found that sort of creepy.”    Funny.

610b.jpg

Mebz’s Weekly No-Good Irrelevant YouTube Video

Wow, that really was irrelevant.

Weekend Discussion Question: Favorite Holiday for candy?  Easter? Christmas? Valentine’s Day?  Discuss!

17 Comments

Filed under Election 2008, Foodstuffs, From The Archives, Iraq War, Technology, The Middle East

17 responses to “What up, Peeps?

  1. acanderfan

    Wow, that blog was primitive. It was intersting to read some of it though. I hope they have this blog again for the 2008 election.

    I fell alseep during the Shock and Awe special, but being that it is a 360 speical, it’ll be on 3 million more times and I’ll be able to see it again.

    I love how John is described as “that guy with good hair”…LOL!!! John is about the olny reason that I have been abel to tolerate all this election coverage. I coild listen to him go on for hours about it. Anyone else talking politics just annoys and frustrates me.

    Totally off topic, but who has noticed the stitches on the left side of Anderson’s face??? The poor guy had minor surgery on monday to remove a small spot of skin caner.

    My favorite candy to get for a holiday is Skittles. Hi, my name is ACAnderFan and I am a skittles adict.

  2. Millie

    Mebz, I didn’t know you were intending to cover John in Jerusalem today… if you still want to, feel free to do so! Mi blog is su blog…

    Hi, My name is Millie and I am a Haribo Gummy Bear Addict. Nice to meet you, AC. Right now, I am at step 1: I admit I am powerless to overcome my addiction to Haribo Gummy Bears.

    I am working towards Step 2: Believing that a Power greater than myself can restore me to a gummy-bear free diet.

  3. Millie

    p.s. Just sent a boat your way. Hopefully it will arrive soon. Also, those were great quotes you found about John at the magic board!!!!

  4. acanderfan

    Hi Millie, nice to see someone else with a candy adiction. I too am still on step one. I have been on step one for a long time now. Maybe together we can over come our addiction, but between you and me I am perfectly happy being stuck at step one…LOL!!!

    Mebz, did you get Millie’s boat yet??? I’m worried that you may have floated down river.

  5. mebz72

    Hey guys, I added a pic from last night’s special.

    Thanks for the boat. You need it in parts of this state! But this is nothing new, my hometown floods a few times a year, it seems like.

    I don’t think I have a single favorite candy, but I am with you guys, that I do tend to go for fruit flavored things. Right now, I’m ODing on jelly beans.

    Yeah I read about Anderson’s little surgery. I hope he’s ok. But even with those stitches, he still looked good!

    I’m going to be gone until tomorrow night, so have a good one ’til then!

  6. mebz72

    Oh by the way, you guys should read Peter Bergen’s latest article. It will make you sick to your stomach, but is important never the less.

    http://www.peterbergen.com/bergen/articles/details.aspx?id=337

  7. acanderfan

    Mebz, I a gree even with his stitches Anderson still does look good. I think he looks cute with them.

  8. acanderfan

    John is filling in for Wolf on TSR. It’s nice to see John back in the states. Maybe Anderson will be off tonite and John will fill in for him too.

    *side note: John’s tie is pretty and looks good on him

  9. Millie

    Thanks for the heads up on John filling for TSR. Yes it is nice to see him back in the States.

  10. acanderfan

    I don’t particulary like TSR, however I am more inclined to watch when John is anchroing it. Maybe one day in the future John will have his own show.

  11. acanderfan

    Yes!!! I was right. John is anchroing 360. I had a feeling when I saw him on TSR that he might be filling in for Anderson tonight.

  12. Karen

    I really don’t understand what the problem is. We are sick of listening to people go back and forth about a sermon of foolish comments made by Rev. Wright, Ok everyone has had their say can we please just move on now? The question was asked several times by news casters do you think this will follow Sen. Obama if he is the Democratic Nominee. The answer is YES because you people the new reporters have nothing better to do other than keep it going. Don’t you have some real news to report on. Real Americans are not sick of hearing that foolishness. Please Report on important news that really matters. If Sen. Obama had made those statements then maybe you would be justified in exposing it for a week but to talk about it every single night and day several times a day is a waste of good air time. Please let it rest. I know you are a better reporter than that.
    Karen

  13. mebz72

    Man, I tell you what, I go away for ONE night and I miss JK filling-in on both TSR and 360! And I missed Michael Ware on HBO. I’ve got some catching up to do. Off to watch the podcast!

  14. mebz72

    Hey, where has everyone been at these last few days?

  15. acanderfan

    Hey Mebz, I’m still here. Millie told me that for the past few days you have been with Macaulay Culkin. I thought you two hated each other.

  16. mebz72

    *squints eyes* VERY funny.

  17. acanderfan

    Mebz, we’re your firends. No one is going to judge you if you are having a relationship with him 🙂

Leave a Reply

