Dusting off the Cobwebs

Monday, 06.16.08 Posted by: Mebz

OH!  I’VE MISSED YOU GUYS!  It has been a crazy-busy month for me.  I’ve been gone for 3 out of the last 4 weeks.  I have been to Michigan, New York, Minnesota, Indiana, Illinois and Iowa, not to mention a week at my parent’s house.  It sure is good to be home! (Will be even better once I get my laundry done!)  I don’t know how JK and the other CNN personnel handle such travel- I’m exhausted!

I’ve missed a lot on the CNN front, but thankfully not too much concerning JK’s reporting as he was off for a good portion of the last few weeks too. (BTW: Congratulations John and Dana!  We at Johnthenewsking wish you ALL THE BEST!!)

Alright enough of that.  Let’s get down to business.  While playing catch-up on the news I missed while gone, I saw John’s piece on the End of Freedom Fries.  All I can say is that it’s about time we put to rest what has to be the single stupidest thing the US Congress has ever done.  My health care sucks, but by all means start renaming side dishes… (deep breaths)

And, how nice is it to start seeing some reports that aren’t completely about the Democratic primary? Regardless of who you supported, can’t we all be happy that it’s over now?  Speaking of which…

Be sure to check out afagen’s Flicker photo stream entitled Hillary Clinton ends campaign, you might recognize You Know Who in a few of them:

Well, I will leave you today with what you have all been missing:

Mebz’s No-Good Irrelevant You-Tube Video

While traveling I re-read both of Rory Stewart’s books; The Places in Between and The Prince of the Marshes.  In my opinion, two of the best books written in the last five years.  Even if you only have a passing interest in either Iraq or Afghanistan I would HIGHLY recommend you pick these up.  So in honor of that I give you Rory’s interview on Charlie Rose Tomorrow.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Current Events

5 responses to “Dusting off the Cobwebs

  1. Millie

    Hey miss Mebz! I have missed you, too, and your crazy-cool posts! Wow, you HAVE been all over the place, whew! But I can understand it must feel good to be home.

    My busy schedule the last few months has been crazy, too! Time just flies every day and I never know if I am coming or going. But I am enjoying working, volunteering and sweatin’ up a storm at Curves. It has filled my time literally from the moment I wake up till the moment I go to bed… but it’s not a bad, thing, though… I just wish I had more time to post blogs!!!

    And hey, I don’t think it’s been TOO long for cobwebs to start accumulating around here… hehehe

    AC, comeout, comeout wherever you are….

  2. mebz72

    Hey there Millie! It feels good to be back in the swing of things. I’m not sure how often I will be blogging, but at least 1-2 a week. Of course this is your “baby” so anytime you want to jump in here, feel free.

    Where is AC?

  3. MWmcFan

    Hi Millie & Mebz,
    AC is suppose to be back on tonight, he was filming another PIP to be shown in the fall but we’ve been seeing snipets here and there.
    This past week was a bonanza of Michael Ware! Please see Cyn’s site and also her yesterday’s ATC post to catch up with This Week in Ware! LOL
    Enjoyed your post today Mebz, I hadn’t heard of Rory Stewart. I will definitely check out his books, he’s an interesting guy.
    Well all the best to you on the johnthenewsking blog.

  4. mebz72

    Hey MWmcFan. Cyn did have a great post at ATC this morning! I saw on the 360 blog that AC-as in Anderson Cooper will be back tonight.

    The AC that Millie and I are talking about is ACanderfan. She is usually our 3rd partner in crime ’round these parts.

    See you over at wareabouts!

  5. Pingback: Welcome to ‘Morning Express’ Carlos Diaz : cnn

Leave a Reply

